Kate McMurray and Todd Anderson

Host Profile

    My Property

    Business Type

    Small/Non-commercial farm

    Farming methods


    Short Property Description

    Hello! It’s a great time of year up at our place! Summer is a great time for bushwalking, swimming, beach and the Fringe and Festival not that far away!

    We are a family of four – Todd, Kate, Wimitja (17) and Kinyin (14). We are in the Adelaide Hills but only 20-25 minutes from the city center. Good access by public transport. Non smokers only. It is green and beautiful here with loads of great walks, views and animals to see.

    We are close to the city and a bus route but in the hills with koalas and kangaroos around… We are working on lots of projects – making woven fences out of vine prunings, making paths, drainage, planting natives, building wicking beds, retaining walls, planting and caring for summer veg gardens, maintaining native bushland and of course a little weeding!

    We have been WWOOF hosting for many years and really enjoy sharing life with people from all around the world. Stories, food, work, laughs and all that comes in between.

    We want to enjoy hosting you and we want you to enjoy being here! We work on our 3 1/2 acre property with animals, fruit trees, loads of berries, native bush and other garden areas.

    We are slowly working to make the land and garden more productive and the bush free from ferals. Todd works with the at risk elderly as a community nurse which is 30 minutes away or 1 hour by bike. Kate is a teacher who works with children and young families in Steiner or Waldorf Education from our property running Steiner Nature Playgroups. Our older son breeds chickens and our younger son loves his pet rabbit. Lacey the dog will love you for ever if you throw the ball for her!

    We enjoy cooking, gardening, preserving food, slow cooking and spending time as a family. We value community and believe in being part of something bigger than ourselves. We love travel but don’t do as much these days and hosting WWOOFers is a way to bring bits and pieces of the world alive in our every day life. If you would like to come and spend time with us we prefer stays of one week – then negotiable. We enjoy people who are self motivated and looking to enjoy their days. We love it if you have great skills but are also fine if you are pretty new to it all but are happy to learn. Our home is a place for an open mind and complete respect for each person.

    No drugs, no smoking and no excessive drinking – let’s work, learn and enjoy the days together. Everyone helps with cleaning up after meals and preparing food. If you are interested in gardening, cooking, permaculture, preserving food, community, Steiner or Waldorf education, telling stories and enjoying good food – this could be for you!

    The work here is a mix of home and garden and is seasonally dependent – give us a call to see what is happening at the moment. A typical day might include mulching, pruning, weeding, collecting stones for wall building or weaving sticks into fences, planting, preserving seasonal fruit and veg, cleaning and mending in and around the house, etc. We like to provide a variety of jobs and also work to people’s skill set. We would love to host an electrician or plumber or builder!!! We try to limit our screen use but there is wifi available in the house.

    Our family prefers to enjoy people and life first hand! We enjoy eating together and telling stories and laughing over the meal. We love it when visitors want to cook a meal or two using a recipe from their family or home. We eat a small amount of meat but are most happy to cater for vegetarians as Kate until recently was vego! There is a wealth of things to do around our place in free time – there is a bus to the city to do city based things but we are also close to Mount Lofty, Cleland Wildlife park and our house 5 minutes walk to the Heysen Trail.

    You can regularly see kangaroos and koalas in the bush around our property and we back onto Horsnell Gully National Park. There is lots of good bush walking around. We look for visitors to work 5 hours a day and to negotiate days off in balance with this. We all share preparing for meals and cleaning up afterwards. Visitors have their own private granny flat with bathroom. We are on tank water and solar heating so visitors must be mindful of water usage. No smokers at all.

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    3-7 days, 1-2 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation


    In Our Home, Separate Building

    Other options

    Non-Smoking, Children allowed by arrangement, Pets allowed by arrangement

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together, Share most meals

    Languages spoken


    Diets we cater for

    Mixed meals, some meat, some vegetarian, Vegetarian meals

    Work and Study Remotely here

    Work and Study Remotely here by arrangement

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    We are WWOOF hosts as our family miss travelling and love people and stories. We also believe it is important for our children to have a broad view of the world and the amazing people who make it up. We also love learning and working as a community – life is richer for sharing it with others. 😊



    Availability Calendar

    Pin It on Pinterest