New Android App now available - iPhone App coming soon. Read More

Deborah and Wayne Jobson

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    Arundel Springs

    Business Type

    Commercial Farm

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Short Property Description

    Full Property Description

    We have a menagerie of livestock/pets including a 5 Mo old puppy, 2 chooks, 1 rooster, 1 turkey, 3 angora goats, 15 alpacas and seasonal ligurian bees. We are primarily free range/organic small breeders of 100% fullblood black wagyu cattle. Our goals include: rejuvenating and enhancing the land, soil health, and raising our animals with a life of honour and respect. We are members of BD Ag Au, using BD preps, compost teas and vermijuice. We also use biological methods and have soil microbial consultants.
    Work includes helping to establish and maintain a veggie garden and orchard, fencing, feeding and animal care, use of tractor (if skilled), whipper snipping, weeding, etc.. Prior knowledge of working with large animals/tractors is a bonus.

    Accom for up to 2 people in our home. No children. Mixed diet, dinner shared with Hosts. Breakfast and lunch are mostly serve yourself. Non-smokers only (no smoking inside). Prefer stays of 4 plus weeks, negotiable after initial trial stay of 5 days.

     

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    Biodynamic preps and teas, fungal dominated compost teas, vermiteas, flail mowing, cutting weeds, etc..

    Special Conditions

    We would prefer non vegetarians as we grow and eat our own animals; we therefore have freezers full of meat. Most of our cattle are breeders but a few are destined for the freezer.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Biodynamic practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Soil conservation, Mulching, Beekeeping, Animal care, Fencing, Preserving & processing food

    My Details

    Name

    Deborah and Wayne Jobson

    Partners Name

    Wayne

    Gender

    Couple

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    2-4 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home

    Other options

    Non-Smoking, No Smoking Inside, No Children

    Meal Procedures

    Share some meals, Share cooking

    Languages spoken

    English, French

    Diets we cater for

    Meat

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    We joined Wwoof  about 9 yrs ago (rejoining after a 2 year break) to have some much needed assistance and company doing chores, to share our different methods, experiences, and to allow others to experience life on a hobby farm. 

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest