New Android App now available - iPhone App coming soon. Read More

Bernward and Barbara Bucheler

Host Profile

    My Property

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Short Property Description

    We live on a 2 hectare property with the young Angus river running through. We have organic gardens with fruit trees, all sorts of berries, vegetable garden with free-roaming bantams, big-layer hens, flower beds and lawns, as well as  2 goats on paddocks.  I run a sustainable architecture & building consulting business from home and we offer holiday accommodation . Help is always needed in the garden & paddock, picking berries & apples, looking after animals, weed control, making firewood, compost, cleaning up sheds & around the place, sometimes on a sustainable building site. We live 45min by car from Adelaide, 45min from safe swimming beaches & 45min from the surf, so we are pretty central. Accom for 2 in separate stone cottage & own room in the main building. All share in home cooked evening meal. Mixed diet. No smokers please. Longer stays (min 3 weeks) preferred after initial few days. Use of a car possible for the right person. Please contact us via email only.

     

    Full Property Description

    Here some feedback we got through another volunteer exchange program:

    09/07/2019
    Feedback left by Marina & Lena for you
    We came here for only three weeks, but I (Marina) ended up staying for 4 months. We learned a lot of things, working in the garden and with animals, but also enjoyed our weekly trips with Bernward, didn’t matter where we went – Beaches, Cinema, Feeding Kangaroos – it was always fun and relaxed. Nice and Cozy movie nights, game night, lots of cake and an environment that makes you feel just like home made me stay for so long and I don’t regret nothing.
    Thanks for everything 😊

    (Excellent )

    03/06/201
    Feedback left by Juliet Lucilefor you
    I just spent some incredible 3 Weeks with the family.
    It was a lovely experience.
    The work is very varied and there is always something new to learn. It was especially good for me to learn to take care of the animals. We went on great excursions and I even got some days off to go on a small Trip to Melbourne.
    This family is ever so genrous and fun to stay with.
    I will miss the gamenights and their Company in genral.
    Its safe to say if you stay here, you will not want to leave.
    Thank you to everyone I met in Macclesfield for this great time!
    I hope to come back some time.
    (Excellent )

    31/05/2019
    Feedback left by Suzanne for you
    I stayed with the B family for a month, and I never thought I would feel so at home somewhere so far away. The first week it was just me, and I had a great time meeting Bernward, Barbara, and later on Kat and Lilly. After that week Juliet joined us and Marina came back. The family was complete. Bernward cooked delicious food every evening and they always spoke english when I was around, even though everybody else spoke german. On Sundays, Bernward would drive us to an interesting place and we would do a bit of sightseeing or koala petting. I could really be my true, weird self. I will never forget my time I spent with you and I would love to come back someday. My birthday was made very special and I still cherish my Nutella jar. And the journal that I now use. I think I just want to say THANK YOU! I will miss the atmosphere in and around the house. I will miss the quietness all around. I will miss the animals. I will even miss the scratching of the possums. But most of all will I miss the wonderful people.
    23/04/2019

    Feedback left by Franka for you
    Dear Barbara and Bernward, the time has come to look back at my stay with you. After picking me up at the airport it took only a little time to feel like at home in Macclesfield. I have enjoyed to be a part of the family and to live together with the other helpers who stayed with me. It was a very good experience for me to work in your nice gardenand your household and to take care of your animals. I loved the meals cooked by you Bernward, I will never forget our five-day stay in the beach house and all the other excursions we have made around Adelaide. A big thank you for staying with you and for supporting me in my own travel plans after my stay. Please pass my greetings to your family.
    With love
    Franka

    (Excellent )

    08/01/2019
    Feedback left by Lara & Tabea for you
    Dear Barbara and Bernward, Katharina and Lily, thank you so much for the amazing five weeks we could spend with you. All of you made us feel home from the first minute until the end. We loved spending Christmas with you and will never forget the weekend trips around Mecclesfield, the days at the beach and of course the delicious food. Hopefully see you soon, Lara and Tabi

    (Excellent )

    14/12/2018
    Feedback left by Linnea for you
    Dear Bernward and Barbara!
    Thank you for the last month that I was able to spent with you. I’m gonna miss the good food, the animals and the weekly trips to the nicest places around Macclesfield. I wish you all a wonderful Christmas and a good new year!
    Best wishes, Linnea

    (Excellent )

    14/12/2018
    Feedback left by Janina for you
    Huhu Bernward und Barbara!It was a pleasure to stay with you the last 3 weeks. Thank you for the hospitality, it felt like I would be a part of your family. Also, I had a lot of fun with the other workawayers. Macclesfield is a good place to be and to recover from traveling and get a time out.
    Feeding and stroking the animals, collecting the eggs and weeding will always positively stay in my mind 😉

    Hopefully see you again, Janina.
    (Excellent )

    18/11/2018
    Feedback left by Helena for you
    My stay with the Buechelers was A M A Z I N G!
    Bernward and Barbara are really big-hearted and always went on trips with us which was fun!!
    Moreover we didn`t have to do hard work and were free to start our own little “projects” in the garden, e.g. building a fireplace. I wish all the backpackers who are going to visit the Buechelers after me a stay with lots of great memories. I wish you all the best, Helena!
    (Excellent )

    27/10/2018
    Feedback left by Johanne & Trine for you
    We stayed with Barbara and Berward and two other wonderful German backpackers for 2, 5 week.
    5 stars does not justify how much we enjoyed staying there. We felt at home immediately, since the family is so warm and welcoming. Their home is a true backpacker paradise! Every weekend, Bernward took us on adventures to beaches and Cleland Park were we fed the cutest native animals, and every evening we enjoyed wonderful dinners and chats.
    Bernward helped us with so many things, – also when we were in a tight spot.
    We’ll always remember Bernward and Barbaras home, as our home overseas. Thank you so much for everything! We’ll miss all the animals, Momo (their little cute kitten) and the family so much. We’re forever grateful for our stay with you. Hugs from Trine and Johanne
    (Excellent )

    02/09/2018
    Feedback left by Amelie for you
    I had such a great time with the family ! I spent 4 weeks there and I didn’t see them go away. Bernward and Barbara are amazing people, they will make you feel part of their family as soon as you get there. They like having people around and it would be surprising if you would be there alone.
    The work is very easy and pleasant if you like animals and working outside. The donkeys, goats, chickens, rabbit and duck are all lovely and there’s always plenty to do in the garden. But I also got plenty of time to visit the area which is so beautiful, even in winter ! And Bernward took me to visit some places like the wildlife park which was really cool (you get to feed and pat kangaroos, emus and koalas !)
    And on top of that, you’ll get to eat some really tasty homemade food, plus there’s always chocolate and Tim tams for you to eat !
    (Excellent )

    24/08/2018
    Feedback left by Lisa for you
    I had a great time in the Adelaide hills. I can’t tell how much amazing experience I had at this place. The food is great! The work is like a bit of feeding the animals in the morning and evening and take care of them and gardening!
    Wonderful…I love this place and this lovely family thank you for everything!
    (Excellent )

    06/04/2018
    Feedback left by They for you
    I stayed with the family in Adelaide for 3 weeks and it was amazing. It was my first Workaway experience so I didn’t really know what to expect but I really enjoyed it. In exchange for easy(sometimes harder) work like weeding, gardening, cleaning and taking care of their cute animals you get delicious homemade food and nice, clean and spacious accommodation.
    The property is beautifully set on the countryside in Adelaide hills and the starry night skies are an extra bonus.
    Since it’s on the countryside it’s a bonus to have your own car or drivers license to easier get around but if you want to go somewhere the family is always happy to help and give you a ride to the nearest bus stop.
    The family is really kind and will make you feel at home immediately and there are usually more than one helper(we were 2-3 when I was there) which is really nice so you always have people to hang around with and it makes working more fun.
    I’d recommend going to this place for anyone who wants a true aussi countryside experience, taking care of some animals, pick up some German language skills and experience a home stay. 🙂
    (Excellent )

    08/02/2018
    Feedback left by Leona for you
    Thank you very much for the great time! I was there for two weeks, but it was possible for him to organize a couple of trips. We drove to the beach and he showed us some other places in the Adelaide hills. After working on an orange farm it felt a little bit like holidays in Macclesfield. For breakfast, lunch and dinner we had a lot of good, fresh and fancy food (including German Christmas biscuits)! After a long time on the road, in the middle of nowhere, it is like a little green paradise with a lot of fruit trees, the vegetable garden and the animals. From the beginning it was a nice, friendly and familiar atmosphere. I wish you all the best for the future and I hope your fridge is still well organized 😉 Otherwise I am really looking forward to see you again! Leona
    (Excellent )

    05/01/2018
    Feedback left by Jana for you
    Thank you for an unforgettable month and the great hospitality. You treated me like a family member from the beginning, so it was very easy for me to get to you in Macclesfield. A big thank you for the helpfulness, the excursions, the delicious food, the wonderful Christmas season, the fest and the great moments. Also a big thank you for having such great confidence in me. I’m very happy to have met you. I really enjoyed my work and you can only fall in love with the animals!
    I wish you all the best and will gladly come back again.
    Stay as you are!
    Jana

    Special Conditions

    No smoking  or perfumed beauty products please.

    We can only accommodate female helpers due to sleeping arrangements.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Mulching, Beekeeping, Animal care

    My Details

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    3 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    2-4 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home, Separate Building

    Other options

    Non-Smoking

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together

    Languages spoken

    English, German

    Diets we cater for

    All diets catered for (mixed meals)

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest