Fiona Steiner

Host Profile

    My Property

    Business Type

    Suburbia

    Farming methods

    Permaculture

    Short Property Description

    We live on a one acre suburban block with loads of permaculture potential!!! At present the block contains a house, big lawns and trees around the perimeter. A permaculture design has just been completed and earthworks will begin this month. You can compare the photos and design to see the scale of the project on which we are embarking.

    There’s plenty to do. Our pool is in transition from salt water and chlorine to a natural pond with 25 fingerlings joining the plants, frogs and lizards last week. We have two border collie dogs. Friendly dogs are welcome after a discussion about personalities.

    I’m learning as we go and can’t claim any special gardening knowledge and as yet we are not producing food. However, if your interested in seeing a big swathe of grass begin its transformation into a food forest, then we be happy to host you..

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    This is a permaculture design in the making. The systems that make permaculture work are under development and there is plenty of learning happening as the elements are brought together e.g. I’m aching to get some chooks busy on tidying up around the edges… first I gotta build a chook tractor!

    My Details

    Name

    Fiona Steiner

    Partners Name

    Marie (mum) Steiner

    Gender

    Family

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    4 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    3-7 days, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home, Caravan, Tent, BYO Accommodation

    Other options

    No Smoking Inside, Children allowed by arrangement, Pets allowed by arrangement

    Meal Procedures

    Share some meals, Share cooking, Food provided, cook your own

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    Vegetarian meals

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    I love community living and enjoy sharing space and working with kindred spirits. I am a full time carer for my mum who has dementia. She also loves people, especially travellers and loves being in the garden. We have a large house with plenty of rooms. It just seems natural to open our home to others. On a gardening front, we are kick starting a whole permaculture design and would love some extra energy around the place to get things rolling.

    Work and Study Remotely here

    Work and Study Remotely here by arrangement

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest