Kane Wheeler

Wwoofer Profile

About Me

Personal Bio

Peoples: Kane, 39; Meidiana (May-D-AA-nuh), 37; Quinn, 3.25 Meidiana and I met at Swinburne TAFE in 2007 and we have been together ever since. We bought our home in Upwey, Victoria late 2009, married in 2013 and had our son Quinn in 2017.

After completing our studies and prior to having Quinn we enjoyed many adventures together in overseas travel, dog training/agility, mountain biking and self employment to name a few. Pre parent-hood we had the chance to visit Jakarta multiple times (Meidiana’s homeland), Bail, Singapore (Meidiana;s brother lived there at the time) and Malaysia. We also earned most of our living via self employment in manufacturing, dog groom services and pet supplies and migratory honey production.

Pre kid free time / hobbies were mountain biking the Lysterfield Trails every day, dog agility training, competitions and renovating our home. These days it’s all about providing for Quinn, living ethically, reducing our footprint, knowing where our food comes from (that we can’t grow), planning for home schooling and moving towards a permaculture life. Big things that have happened since having Quinn has been making the switch to a ‘plant based diet’ , trying/learning to grow our own food veg and currently undertaking a permaculture design certficate with Geoff Lawton.

Our Pets: Esky, 11yo Australian Shepherd; Milli, 9yo Australian Shepherd; Zoro, 8yo Rag Doll; Yoshi, 7yo Working Border Collie (no longer with us); Slater, 6yo Working Border Collie

More specific to me: I grew up in The Basin, Foot Hills of the Dandenong’s, Victoria, left high school after completion of year ten in 1998 to undertake a Fitting & Turning apprenticeship. I returned to school to further my education at Swinburne TAFE & University (Hawthorn, Victoria Campus). After seven and a a half years of full time study ending mid 2009 I’d completed an Advanced Diploma of Engineering (Mechanical), Bachelor of Engineering (Mechanical)(hons) and Bachelor of Business (Management).

Post studies my employment has been, Manufacturing Production Manager, Self Employed Manufacturer, Self Employed Dog Grooming/Pet Supplies business, Commercial Honey Producer, CNC Machinist, Mechanical Designer, Engineering Draftpersons Lead & Design Engineer.

Why I joined WWOOF

We joined in hope that we’d be able to make contact with like minded hosts that implement either (or all) organic, bio-dynamic or permaculture principles on their respective farms and plan out a year or two worth of experiences across Australia.

From the travels and experiences throughout different parts of the country we’d like to have a good understanding of where we’d like to put down roots for our own permacultre farm.

It is also very much about exposing our son to many and various life experiences afar of our current modern suburb lifestyle. New lifelong friendships would be an excellent outcome too 🙂

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest