Alison Ball and Somporn Monpangtiem

Host Profile

    My Property

    Business Type

    Commercial Farm

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Short Property Description

    Full Property Description

    As above but four of us live hereĀ  aged from 83 years to 4 years old. In between are the four year old’s parents. Our property often surprises city locals who think of Pakenham these days as “outer suburbia” and as flat and uninteresting (as it is down near the railway line). But then they come here and are amazed at our rolling hills and beautiful views as well as out proximity to the Dandenong Ranges which comprise some of the most picturesque tourist spot around Melbourne. We are also a half way point between the city and many lovely spots in South Gippsland including Phillip Island.

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    We would like to be certified organic but in fact we are not “real” farmers. We simply run a few sheep to eat the grass and a dozen or so chooks to provide eggs. However in general we try to grow whatever we grow without use of chemicals or other pollutants. Our fruit trees mostly have come from a well known Permaculture man and he advised us when we first came here. We definitely turn as much as we can into good compost and try to build up and improve the soil by natural means. A local Angler’s Club have stocked our dam and fishermen regularly come here to fish.

    Special Conditions

    At 83 years old, I have become too old to do much and have virtually given up on cooking for anyone except myself. Additionally my daughter-in-law goes out to work so she does not often want to cook for others though when she does you will have a great genuine Thai meal. So mostly you will cook for yourselves and we certainly assume anyone wanting a special diet will do so though of course we will take you to buy (& pay for) whatever food you require.

    Another special thing here is that you must be open to be interested in my small grandson who may be shy at first but gets to be very fond of some WWOOFers and does not like it when they ;leave. Some times kicking a ball with him etc, is much appreciated! One WWOOFer has built him a superb Tree House.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Soil conservation, Mulching, Animal care, Mechanical, Using & caring for tools, Fencing, Handyman

    Courses and Events

    We do not run courses or events but will welcome you to any family event that happens when you are with us.

    My Details

    Name

    Alison Ball and Somporn Monpangtiem

    Partners Name

    Somporn's Husband is Peter.

    Gender

    Family

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    2-4 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    Separate Building, Caravan

    Other options

    No Smoking Inside, Children allowed by arrangement

    Meal Procedures

    Eat separately, Share some meals, Food provided, cook your own

    Languages spoken

    English, Thai

    Diets we cater for

    All diets catered for (mixed meals)

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    My daughter knew people in the early 1980’s who were WWOOFers and she suggested the idea to us when we moved to Pakenham in 2012. We enjoy meeting people from many different nations and cultures and we need as much help as we can get for the property.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest