New iPhone App coming soon. Read More

Thomas Bade

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    Blood & Bone vineyard

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Short Property Description

    Originally from Konstanz /Germany I have moved in 2018 from Sydney to Franklin/Tasmania.I have bought 7 acres of land( which used to be a raspberry orchard,)back in February 2019.

    There was nothing on the land apart from a shed and an overgrown dam. 18 months and a lot of effort later, I have establish what I call my basecamp:).

    I am connected to the grid, have plenty of rainwater in my tanks, a fireplace which keeps me warm and a well equipped workshop.

    I am currently working on my cottage, so anyone with building skills is most appreciated.

    Looking after my  ever growing garden, my 6 ewes or making firewood for the next winter is always on the todo list:)

     

    Full Property Description

    7 acres on a slope overlooking the mighty Huon River.I never have a boring day……..There is always something to do, or to discover…

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    I am committed to organic gardening.Anyone, who can share their knowledge with me is most welcome.

    Ideally I am looking for anyone with a background in horticulture, permaculture, or landscaping.

    Alternatively, a carpenter (Zimmerfrau/Zimmermann) could give me a hand building my cottage on the hill:)

    Having worked for over 20 years on major motion pictures as a set builder there will be no shortage of stories to entertain you…….

    Special Conditions

    If you want to chip in, I think anytime between the end of September and the end of May is ideal. Best time to enjoy the beautiful Spring and Summer………

    Also, if you have a problem with composting toilets and an outdoor shower, my place is not for you:)On the upside, reception with the Telstra network is excellent.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Mulching, Worm farming, Beekeeping, Animal care, Mechanical, Using & caring for tools, Making tools, Building, Natural Building techniques, Handyman, Wine making, Fermenting foods, Preserving & processing food

    My Details

    Name

    Thomas Bade

    Gender

    Male

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    3-7 days, 1-2 weeks, 2-4 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation, Whatever suits

    Accommodation

    Caravan, Tent, BYO Accommodation

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together, Share cooking

    Languages spoken

    English/German

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    I have done wwoofing over the last 25 years in Australia and NZ.I love sharing knowledge and good company.I am happy to show you around this beautiful part of the world.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest