Amanda Young

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    Elston

    Business Type

    Commercial Farm

    Farming methods

    Biodynamic

    Short Property Description

    Our farm is located 33km west of Tamworth NSW, on 460 acres. It is a beautiful part of NSW, a few hours inland from the coast and about 5 hours north of Sydney, 7 hours south of Brisbane. We live at the end of a dirt road on the top of a hill with no neighbours in site, this really is “country Australia!”.

    We breed horses and farm beef cattle. Our focus is on regenerative agriculture – using sustainable farming practises to improve and regenerate soils and the environment, and enhance productivity. We have owned our farm for 8 years and are building new infrastructure to improve it, including fencing and water troughs.

    We have around 30 horses at most times with several foals born each year. We breed quarter horses, that we then break in and train for the western sport of “cutting”, which involves working cows. You can check out our Facebook page Three Leaf Stud to see more about our horses. Rafe competes in cutting and reined cow horse when he has time, and I compete in the English disciplines of Eventing, show jumping, and dressage. So we have a range of horses, not just quarter horses, also thoroughbreds and warmbloods. Depending on the time of year, you may experience foaling season, starting horses under saddle, or horse shows. If you are a competent rider you may have the chance to ride regularly,  however this can’t be guaranteed until we see your skills in practice!

    A typical day here involves feeding and checking all the horses twice a day, checking water troughs and fence lines, and feeding cattle. We operate a hydroponic fodder factory sprouting barley seeds for our cattle, so seeding this, cleaning it and feeding out the fodder is a daily process. We ride most days and then the tasks vary from day to day, sometimes it’s fencing, or helping build something, fixing something, gardening, every day is different!

    Our house is quite modern and air conditioned, you will have your own room in our house with a beautiful view and bathroom, WiFi. We expect you to be clean and tidy and to help with things like doing the dishes, we cook and eat a mixed diet with meat and vegetables… and chocolate. We are both 40, no kids, friendly labrador called BenDog and a cool stable cat called BobCat. We treat people as we expect to be treated, and believe that in life, you get back what you put in!

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Biodynamic practices & techniques, Gardening, Soil conservation, Mulching, Animal care, Mustering, Using & caring for tools, Building, Fencing, Handyman

    My Details

    Name

    Amanda Young

    Partners Name

    Rafe Ritchie

    Gender

    Couple

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    2-4 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home

    Other options

    Non-Smoking, No Children

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    Meat, Vegetarian

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    Having travelled in my 20s, I enjoyed meeting people from different parts of the world and believe that hosting WWOOFers is a great opportunity to meet like minded people with fresh perspectives. Our property is quite beautiful and we have had backpackers visit/work here previously who thoroughly enjoyed their stay. We think we have a fair amount of knowledge to share and a good Aussie experience to provide, and enjoy living and working alongside people who are keen to enjoy a new experience whilst contributing to our endeavours.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest