Lynda Fletcher

Host Profile

    My Property

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Farming methods

    Biodynamic

    Short Property Description

    We have a beautiful property in Conondale, near Maleny which is in the Sunshine Coast hinterland, Queensland. 154 acres, mostly native bush but with about 20-30acres of cleared land, and we even have our own rain forrest and deer!

    We have recently moved here and have lots of plans! But the first thing is to get the fences sorted, and the weeds in the paddocks and the native bush. We are interested in regenerative farming methods, and are looking forward to putting these practices in place to improve the soil and native bush around us.

    We have a fabulous pool, tennis court and with three dams, one which you can kayak in, there is lots to do on your down time. There is a bus at our gate that will take you into Maleny which is about a 20 minute drive.

    We’ve had WWOOFers for the last 2 years out at Roma (in the South QLD outback) and would love to host more here, in this completely different environment as we learn together!

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    I am committed to Regenerative farming practices and will use the goats to help manage the lantana, and will use a low till method to plant a multi seed crop of local grasses to eventually over power the introduced, noxious grass species.

    I like the idea of working with the animals to get the soil health back to where it should be and better, increasing our carbon offset, while decreasing our carbon footprint! I also would like to fertilise with natural organic fertilisers, and am keen to trial my own mix for this purpose.

    My Details

    Name

    Lynda Fletcher

    Gender

    Family

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    Whatever suits

    Accommodation

    In Our Home, BYO Accommodation

    Other options

    Non-Smoking, Children allowed by arrangement, Pets allowed by arrangement

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together, Eat separately, Share some meals, Share most meals, Share cooking, Food provided, cook your own

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    Mixed meals, some meat, some vegetarian, BYO Special diet foods please

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    We love meeting people, learning and being on a journey to do better with the land that we have. We have had WWOOFers for the last two years + on our hobby farm near Roma, in the South West of QLD. We have loved learning and teaching and having fun with the many we have had stay! Many nationalities, and age groups, with many variations in skills, both in farming/gardening and in speaking English. We have had great people, some of which have become lifelong friends.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest