Lucie Bruvel and Marco Forman

Host Profile

    My Property

    Business Type

    Commercial Farm

    Farming methods

    Biodynamic

    Short Property Description

    We are a couple with two children ages 3 and 14. We run a small mixed farm within a community with houses currently under construction (30 in total) called Shepherds Ground. We work the land using bio dynamic preparations as much as possible and we are in the process of increasing our holistic land management approach to the land in the management of livestock. We run about 15 cattle, 30 sheep, 30 laying hens. We also have ducks, and bees for honey. We produce small scale commercial garlic and run a kitchen garden with mixed vegetables. We have places for willing workers to do a mix of farm work including fencing, building, animal care, garden bed preparation, planting and harvesting garlic, processing garlic, compost building and other farm work. Nourishing shared midday meals with the meat and vegetable components mostly from our farm. Other times food is provided to you to prepare in the shared kitchen, we only accommodate vegetarian but no other specialised diets. Accommodation is either covered tent area or a room in the farm house. Initial stay is 2 days, if this works out then a minimum of 2 weeks stay. We are 50 minutes drive or train ride from the beach in Newcastle city. We are also close to the vineyard area, the Port Stephens coast, national parks etc. Our property adjoins large expanses of Australian forest. There are a maximum of opportunities for experiencing the Australian nature as well as farm and community life.

    Full Property Description

    The property covers over 100 hectares managed as a ‘land share’. It is mostly cleared with sections of revegetation. The plot of land is mostly surrounded by eucalyptus forest.

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    We use mostly bio-dynamic and holistic land management techniques. A lot of hands on work, some tractor work.

    Special Conditions

    We are not able to accommodate strict vegan diets.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Biodynamic practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Soil conservation, Mulching, Wild Food Foraging, Beekeeping, Animal care, Using & caring for tools, Building, Natural Building techniques, Fencing, Handyman, Bread making, Fermenting foods, Preserving & processing food, Marketing produce

    Courses and Events

    On the community we run hemp building workshops from time to time (there are 23 homes being constructed here in a village over the next two years) we will also be running other workshops such as rammed earth floor construction etc. We run a mix of days here that involved seed raising, propagating, hide tanning etc etc. It depends on the season.

    My Details

    Name

    Lucie Bruvel and Marco Forman

    Partners Name

    Marco

    Gender

    Family

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    4 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    2-4 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home, Separate Building, Tent, BYO Accommodation

    Other options

    Children allowed by arrangement

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together, Share some meals, Share cooking, Food provided, cook your own

    Languages spoken

    English, French, other community members – Hungarian, German

    Diets we cater for

    Meat based meals, Vegetarian meals

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    We are joining to be Wwoof hosts again as we have had lots of great help from fellow willing workers through the Wwoof network. We are still in start up mode after 5 years so there is a lot to do as we are working naturally and in tune with nature – natural farming is very labour intensive. We have also had so many great experiences meeting others and mutually sharing our lives and knowledge. We have both done Wwoofing at different times extensively overseas including Germany, France, Mexico.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest