Rachael Thorpe

Wwoofer Profile

About Me

Personal Bio

Hey there! I’m an 18 year old Canadian looking to see more of the world and learn things along the way. I have grown up on a hobby farm, so this means that I am well versed in taking care of horses, cows, chickens, dogs, cats and of course bunnies. I am looking forward to witnessing more environmentally conscious ways of living, as well as meeting like minded people. I am very easy going, and eat almost anything you have to offer (olives and gravel permitting). Furthermore, I am a avid hiker, and love to ski and work with animals. Should I come to your farm, I would be more than happy to do whatever needs doing, just say the word.

The reason why I am applying to Australia above all the other countries in the world, is a two part answer…

1). Canadian winters are really freaking cold, so hopefully I can escape from that for a time!

2). I am hoping to see and learn about the native wildlife and plants in the area, as they are so different from those here in Northern CA.

Why I joined WWOOF

When I was younger we always had WWOOFers at my farm. So much so that I thought it was extremely normal for my house to be a pit stop for world travelers to stay. In the past I have volunteered for relief organizations, but I came back to WWOOFing due to it being more budget friendly, as well as a good place to pick up skills, and meet like minded friends. By WWOOFing I hope to become more knowledgeable about eco-farming techniques, as well as different cultures and animal care methods (in particular horse care, as it seems that everyone has a different mindset on how to work with their horse).

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest