Rodney Angelo

Host Profile

My Property

Business Type

Commercial Farm

Farming methods

Permaculture

Short Property Description

We are a family of 4 (2 boys, 8 & 11 years old), and we enjoy the opportunity WWOOFing gives us to learn from others & pass on our own skills to those who stay with us. We live on a 5 acre block, 7km from Alice Springs, with a beautiful outlook toward the ranges & cliff line. We enjoy mountain bike riding, and you can use our spare bikes to get to town & do some exploring.

We make our own beer & bread, and keep chooks, ducks, geese, fish, pigs, goats and have wild rabbits (which we try to catch). We often see perente, sand goannas & other lizards, & dingo in and around our block. We are in our fourth year of establishing an organic permaculture market garden.

We are a working small market farm and attempting to make a living from our veggie production, and supplemented with egg sales.

We are implementing learnings from Curtis Stone (the urban farmer), JM Fortier (the market gardener), and Conor Crickmore (Neversink Farm). Work during school hours is maximised work time is aimed at being effective and productive, through a systems approach.

Volunteering for WWOOFers includes animal care, weeding and whatever project is going at the time.
We like to use any skills you bring & if we have a project to work on we welcome your input.

Accommodation for 2 in our caravan with aircon and basic outdoor kitchen, outdoor shower, and compost toilet. All applications are taken to the family and crew to have final decision.

Some shared meals, but mostly food provided for self-catering.

Others stay on the property with longer term commitments and different arrangements.

Children b.a. No smoking inside. Initial stay 6-14 days, longer stays and traineeships are available by negotiation and proof of enthusiasm.

The more you put into your stay with us the more we all gain!

Organic/Biological methods we use

We use organic methods in our farm and are looking at starting the process toward certification in 2021

Skills WWOOFers can learn here

Organic practices & techniques, Permaculture design practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Mulching, Animal care, Dairy, Using & caring for tools, Cheese making, Fermenting foods, Preserving & processing food, Bread making, Marketing produce

My Details

Name

Rodney Angelo

Gender

Family

The Stay

Can Accommodate

2 WWOOFers

Preferred length of Stay

1-2 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

Accommodation

Caravan, Tent, BYO Accommodation

Other options

Smoking allowed, No Smoking Inside, Children allowed by arrangement

Meal Procedures

Share some meals, Share cooking, Food provided, cook your own

Languages spoken

English

Diets we cater for

All diets catered for (mixed meals)

Why I became a WWOOF Host

To share knowledge and experience

Address

Contact

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest