Amanda Benson & Brett Hooper

Host Profile

My Property

Business Type

Commercial Farm

Farming methods

Organic

Short Property Description

We live on a beautiful 16 acre farm in Arcadia which is an hour north of the Sydney CBD. We are at the end of a very quiet street and surrounded by national park, there isn’t a neighbour in sight! There are lots of beautiful walking and riding trails outside out gate yet the shops are only 15 minutes away. Train stations are 30 minutes away so the city and beaches are very accessible. Our workers and volunteers have free use of a great little Toyota Yaris to drive locally so they can get to the train stations and go out and do fun local things on days off. We pay for the fuel and all other expenses related to the car. I (Amanda) have a business with horses. I give lessons and train horses for clients in dressage and show jumping. Before I had children, I used to compete at a high level in eventing. I don’t seem to have time to compete much these days. We usually have between 18 and 24 horses here so it’s all pretty busy. My husband, Brett is a builder. He tries to work as locally as possible and also has a long list of jobs to get through on the farm so he’s pretty busy too!! We have two children. Toby is 8 and Daisy is 5. They are both at school this year so we don’t need so much help with them. Just having fun playing with them when I have lessons before and after school and on weekends. Both children have beautiful ponies and love to go to pony club. They love the outdoors and spend every spare second outside playing or helping with jobs (in their own special way!!).

The Stay

Why I became a WWOOF Host

So we could meet lovely people from other countries and they can help us on our farm and have a wonderful experience at the same time!

Address

Contact

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest