Download the New iPhone WWOOF App now!Read More

Nicole Purvis

Host Profile

    My Property

    Farming methods

    Permaculture

    Business Type

    Suburbia

    Short Property Description

    The seclusion & privacy of 1/4 acre in the heart of town with Australian birds & wild life a plenty. A relaxed family home, with a creek & bush reserve. Hot tub, Yoga spaces & wood fired oven. Our garden consists of fruit trees, Bush Tucker, herbs, veggies, worms, bees, chooks & ducks. Must love animals and have no allergies as we have indoor cats and our friendly Labrador, Dex.

    We follow permaculture because we are passionate about self-reliance & futuresteading for future generations. We love growing, cooking, preserving, fermenting, medicine -making & brewing our home-grown & local produce. We have many permaculture systems in place & can show how these self-sufficient principles work in a ‘normal’ aussie house block in suburbia. Eg; composting, humanure, beekeeping, worm-farming, fertigation, swales, greywater, making seaweed fertiliser, wicking beds, driveway gardening, outdoor & indoor mushroom cultivation…. Other hobbies include weaving, bushwalking, surfing, music, craft, yoga, vintage cars & motorcycles, e-bikes.

    Work includes general tending of home & garden maintenance, making compost, mulching, digging, weeding, herb & food preserving…. in flow with the day, season & moment.  Accomodation for 2 in ‘The Cottage’, a private, self-contained ‘tiny house’ in our garden, with a Double bed, hot outdoor shower, composting toilet & camp kitchen. Some shared meals, mixed diet. 3-7 day stays.

    Keith is Canadian (we met while he was backpacking in Oz in ’89), Nicole is of Italian heritage. We have 3 grown children & a beautiful baby grand daughter who live around the corner & visit often.  We are short walking distance (10mins) to Mollymook beach, Harbour & shops & a few minutes drive to Milton. We are very easy going & potter in the garden a few hours a day,  leaving you plenty of time to explore the beautiful south coast. Theres also the option of time learning kitchen practices like fermenting, canning & pickling, growing mushrooms, weaving & sharing wisdom.

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    Permiculture & organic gardening, worm farming, composting sydtems including toilet. Small scale food production & preserving for partial self-sufficiency & strong self-reliance. Water bath preserving, pressure canning, home brewing, fermentation, kombucha, herbalism, basket weaving, craft, sewing, natural dying, herbal medicine, ointments & skincare, soap-making.

    My Details

    Name

    Nicole Purvis

    Partners Name

    Keith

    Gender

    Couple

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    3-7 days, 1-2 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    Separate Building

    Other options

    Non-Smoking, Children allowed by arrangement

    Meal Procedures

    Share some meals

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    Mixed meals, some meat, some vegetarian, Gluten free meals

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    To share my love of gardening, herbal wisdom, food preserving & animal care with hopes of encouraging others to be more self-reliant, healthy & happy.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest