Jane Gordon

Host Profile

    My Property

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Farming methods

    Permaculture

    Short Property Description

    ‘Kurrajong,’ my property is situated on the far south coast of NSW in Yuin Country. My outlook is to the North West but I am only 10 mins drive from lovely National Park beaches and the coast. I have 5 acres of mostly farmland and some forest with tall Forest Red Gums and Kurrajong trees featuring in the valley.

    I have horses and large gardens to care for and am still trying to build my house out of recycled timbers and tin.

    I could offer self-contained accommodation for anyone willing to help in my garden and weeding paddocks as I don’t use any pesticides.

    I am completely off the grid and on stand alone solar and water. I am a writer and an educator so I work from home on my creative projects when not teaching or tutoring. I have an old dog and used to have a lot of poultry but foxes took them all after the fires came through in 2020. I was very close to the fire front and it was rather frightening. So I have been working hard to get my house protected.

    There would be plenty of small building projects if that was something you were interested in. There is no public transport near my place so you would need your own transport although I and many kind people living in the area would help out I am sure. We call it paradise down here as the waterways are pristine and the area lush but we try to remain reasonably quiet about that.

    My Details

    Name

    Jane Gordon

    Gender

    Female

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    1 WWOOFer

    Preferred length of Stay

    3-7 days, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home

    Other options

    No Smoking Inside

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    Mixed meals, some meat, some vegetarian

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    I need help in the garden and paddocks to try to help manage the weeds and could do with some help on some small building projects I am always doing. I am trying to develop more permaculture vegie gardens incorporating a run for the chooks. I also had to have a lot of land around my home cleared for my development application and have therefore had to create gardens where the bush once was as it was filling with weeds and more eucalypts which I wasn’t allowed to have. It is an enormous task so I would love some help with it. I have a pond as well which needs work.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest