Kate Williams

Wwoofer Profile

About Me

Personal Bio

Hello! My name is Kate, and I am a community conversationalist, social design specialist, and soil-lover hailing from Adelaide, Australia.
 
I’m looking for opportunities to deepen my skills and experience in the areas of permaculture and regenerative design, market-gardening, and food-processing/ farm-to-table. I’m hoping to find placements that will afford me the opportunity to get my hands dirty and explore one or more of these areas in a temperate and sub-tropical climates.

My story:
Specializing in social design, for 11 years I lived and worked in communities across the globe to co-create non-formal education programs that enhance the ability of marginalized groups to gain meaningful employment and participate in civil-society. In 2018 I’ve taken a hiatus to become an apprentice at the Rancho Mastatal Sustainability Education Center working in permaculture, natural-building, and farm-to-table.

My aspiration is to fuse regenerative design with my experience designing education programs, with the desire to make this knowledge more accessible to people in lower-middle income countries.  I believe that having the tools to live regeneratively is transformative, and I want to be able to share these with people in a way that is relevant to them.

I have a personal project that is still in the conception phase that my WWOOFing experiences would inform: I co-own a piece of land with six Armenian and diasporan women in a village in Kalavan, Armenia. I would like to move back to the village in the coming years to restore the land and house, and transform this into a didactic site in regenerative design and living, as well as a community space. I am aware that there is a lot I need to learn and understand to do this, so rather than going back to ‘school’ I’m looking to apprentice myself to people and places that can teach me while I work.

I’m living in Central America until January ’19, then attending an Eco-Village Design Education Program through Gaia Education in Switzerland in February ’19. I will be returning to Adelaide in March and looking to return to Adelaide / Australia for at least approximately 12 months.

Why I joined WWOOF

I’m joining WWOOF to connect to a network of farmers and producers who I can learn from, and contribute to their work.

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest