New iPhone App coming soon. Read More

Glenn Taylor

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    Swampgum Rise

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Business Type

    Suburbia

    Short Property Description

    3hrs from Melbourne Airport

    I am a retired secondary school teacher and run a small BnB business and, having moved onsite recently, I am establishing the garden and maintaining the property. I keep bees, and wish soon to increase the number of hives I have.

    I have hosted many Couchsurfers in my own flat, but will provide more private accommodation with the help of WWOOFers ASAP.

    The property is within a short distance of the Halls Gap village, and is set adjacent to the very popular Grampians National Park, famous for its mountains, wildlife and hiking and climbing.

    There is usually abundant opportunity for additional work in local restaurants, etc., if desired.

    Full Property Description

    My small property is in the village of a very popular tourist destination. People come here to relax in beautiful mountain location, to see the many (and sometimes spectacular) sights, and to enjoy the abundance of wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, emu, and many birds, like cockatoos, wild pigeons and ducks, kookaburras, wattle birds, magpies and currawongs, and lot of smaller ones like finches and blue wrens.

    There are good restaurants, bars and pubs here (which often have job vacancies). There are many opportunities for climbing and hiking, from short strolls to treks of several days. There is an excellent mini-golf course nearby.

    Halls Gap is a village in Victoria, Australia. It’s a gateway to Grampians National Park, known for its sandstone mountains, wildflowers and wildlife including echidnas and wallabies. Park trails lead to waterfalls like towering MacKenzie Falls and slender Silverband Falls.

    10 Best things to do in your free time:

    https://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Attractions-g552177-Activities-Halls_Gap_Grampians_Victoria.html

    Catch a V/Line train from Melbourne’s Southern Cross Station to Ararat Station. This will take between 2 hours and 10 minutes and 2 hours and 30 minutes depending on the time of day. See the timetable for the train to Ararat.

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    I am new to this game, having come to live here permanently since retiring last year, so I am in the establishment stage. I need to look after my bees, clear up combustible material before the bushfire season sets in properly, cut and split firewood,  and plant trees, flowers and vegetables.

    I am environment-conscious; I compost and use no chemicals.

    Special Conditions

    At present I can accommodate two people in my own flat, but will establish further accommodation in consultation with the first WWOOFer guests. Moderate alcohol, perhaps smoking OK, but no drugs, please.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Gardening, Composting, Pruning, Mulching, Worm farming, Beekeeping, Using & caring for tools, Handyman

    Courses and Events

    There is nothing that I run on my property currently, but there is ready access to yoga ($10 a session), pétanque, tai chi (gold coin per session). There are numerous other events held in the village. I could teach aikido (I hold 2nd dan), and administer or teach reiki. I am developing an interest in shinrinyoku, forest bathing.

    My Details

    Name

    Glenn Taylor

    Gender

    Male

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    3-7 days, Whatever suits

    Accommodation

    In Our Home, Separate Building

    Other options

    No Smoking Inside

    Meal Procedures

    Share some meals, Share cooking, Food provided, cook your own

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Dutch, Japanese; some French, Swedish: other smatterings.

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    I manage my property alone, and find it hard to keep up with the work involved, which also includes preparing the BnB accommodation (a picturesque A-frame house) for guests

    Also, through my Couchsurfing guests, I have found that I enjoy the company of young travellers, especially those from countries whose languages I speak or have an interest in. In addition to what I an gain from contact with such people, I can also offer quite a lot in terms of life experience, knowledge and goodwill.

    I am very concerned about environmental issues, and support organics wherever possible.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest