Lois Gabrielle Lugod

Wwoofer Profile

About Me

Personal Bio

Hello future host! My name is Gabbi. I’m Canadian and Filipino. I was born in the Philippines, where I spent the first half of my childhood before emigrating to Canada. Both countries are home.

In the last couple of years, I’ve been drawn to Australia and its landscape, culture, and people. I’ve visited the country twice, first on a semester abroad while studying in university and the second being the one I’m currently in. I’ve been working in Melbourne for the past 6 months as a yoga teacher and barista. Before this, I completed a degree in Exercise Science at the University of Waterloo where I gained much of my insight into the value of creative and critical thinking, problem-solving and the importance of trying, failing, and trying again. I remain incredibly grateful for the passionate instructors who I was able to learn from.

More recently, my focus has shifted towards greener pursuits as I try to find ways to use the skills and knowledge I have to work in environmental conservation. When I go back to Canada, I plan to obtain a Master’s in Conservation Ecology and pursue a career that has a positive impact on the environment. My long-term goal is to secure a small plot of land and build a self-sustaining homestead.

In the meantime, I will continue to spend my time tending to a little, tiny garden on my balcony and going for hikes around Victoria. Other things I do regularly are meditate and practice yoga. Feel free to check out my Instagram page @gabbi.dogood where I post pictures of places I’ve been and memorable activities I’ve done. Currently, I live with my partner Dan, who works as a geotechnical engineer here in Melbourne. Thank you for taking the time to read this and I look forward to getting to know you too!

Why I joined WWOOF

Along with my general inclination towards sustainable living, I have an interest in soil ecology (i.e. interactions between mycorrhizal fungi <–> microbiome <–> trees) and its applications in sustainable agriculture. I have been considering WWOOFing for some time and I finally got the push I needed amidst recent events relating to the bushfires and COVID-19. I find myself with a lot of free time and I have decided to take the opportunity to pursue my interest in ecology more deeply. I aim to do this by helping out at your biodynamic or permaculture farm and learning as much as I can about the process of caring for and maintaining the health of that micro-ecosystem.

I hope this application is not too late to be considered!

I would love to stay with a host for at least a couple of weeks, ideally more, sometime between April and August (up until my visa expires). I can help with picking, planting and anything else that might be required. I have 2 years of experience as a farmhand at a berry farm where I worked during the summers in Canada. I picked and packaged blueberries, elderberries and pumpkins as well as assisted in grafting, pruning and weeding. Anything I haven’t done, I learn really quickly!

Thanks so much for considering me as your WWOOFer!

My Details

Name

Lois Gabrielle Lugod

Visa Type/Citizenship

Working Holiday Visa

Gender

Female

Country of Origin

Canada

Contact

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest