Download the New iPhone WWOOF App now!Read More

Ellen Bevan

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    Elterwater

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Short Property Description

    I live on 3/4 of an acre in an old renovated home with river views. I am just starting out in establishing an organic vegetable garden and also grow a number of fruit trees.

    Accomodation is in your own furnished guest bedroom and own bathroom.

    Lanena is in the beautiful Tamar Valley just 20 minutes drive north of Launceston. I live close to shops, wineries, walking areas and mountains. A beautiful central place to explore the north of Tasmania

    Full Property Description

    I live in a spacious old renovated home with 2 bedrooms as well as separate studio space, 2 bathrooms, modern kitchen as well as wood heated living rooms. My property is approx 3/4 acre with views of the river.

    I live with my 4 cats and 1 Labrador dog. Your accommodation will be in your own double bedroom with queen bed, wardrobe, mirror and drawers. You will also have your own guest bathroom for your own use.

    I have many trees and shrubs on the property and am looking to establish an organic vegetable garden. Also have several fruit trees. My garden is rambling, cottage style and very relaxed. I have several outdoor seating and eating areas for relaxation.

    10 Top things to do in Tasmania:

    https://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Attractions-g255344-Activities-Launceston_Tasmania.html

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    I try to remain organic and only use chemicals as a last resort, for example I needed to use them to rid property of lots of blackberries. WWOOFers will never be asked to use chemicals.

    I would like to use crop rotation in vegie growing and tend to have a relaxed and informal approach to gardening.

    Use of mulch is of paramount importance to me as it represses weeds as well as keeping in moisture and reducing the need for watering.

    I am looking for help with general garden planning and maintenance, tree pruning, laying of mulch, lawn mowing and planting of new trees shrubs. Also some splitting and stacking of wood.

    Special Conditions

    I expect WWOOFers to be non smoking. No recreational drugs allowed.

    Also must be true animal lovers as my pets are my family and spend most of their time indoors. I have 4 cats and a Labrador dog.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Soil conservation, Mulching, Animal care, Handyman, Preserving & processing food, Bread making

    My Details

    Name

    Ellen Bevan

    Gender

    Female

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    3-7 days, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home

    Other options

    Non-Smoking, No Children

    Meal Procedures

    Share most meals, Share cooking

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    Vegetarian only

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest