Tim

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    Eat My Farm

    Business Type

    Commercial Farm

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Short Property Description

    We are Market Gardeners, growing a large range of seasonal veggies organically. We sell weekly veggie boxes (CSA) to people in the local community.

    Full Property Description

    Hi there! We are a family of 4 who are operating an organic market garden on NSW’s mid north coast, about 3hrs north of Sydney. We are currently growing a large variety of seasonal veggies, to sell through our weekly veggie boxes and via our roadside stall. Our CSA veggie box subscription currently feeds 30 families a week!

    The Farm: is a 320acre Wagyu beef farm. We grow here on 2 acres intensively with our market garden. The farm is 3 minutes from our home, on the Pacific Highway at Nabiac. You can also see more of what we do on the farm via our instagram link above.

    Our home: is a 130 acre property, with plenty of space to wander. We are starting to rehab large areas of our place, especially around our creek area.

    There are about 10 chooks, 15 or so ducks, 24 cows, and our dogs Rosie and Rocket. We are located 3 minutes from Nabiac, which has a couple of small grocery stores, vintage shops, bakery, park, public pool, cafe and pub. Forster plus other beautiful beaches are 15 minutes away.

    Your accommodation is a guestroom with a queen bed and bathroom. We can supply food for breakfast and lunch, and have dinners together. We eat a lot of our food from the farm, including veggies, eggs and the occasional chook/duck/lamb/beef.

    What we are looking for:
    We are looking for a happy person to help with farm jobs at the market garden and/or at our home, such as weeding, planting and harvesting. No experience is necessary, but being fit and having the right attitude is 🙂 You will need to be able to perform physical work. You would be asked to do an average of around 4-5hrs work/day, the days are very flexible though. Initially stays would be for 1-2 weeks.
    A few notes.
    – non smokers only please
    – alcohol only in moderation and responsibly
    – full phone reception
    – outdoor firepit (when the weather allows)
    – we have young kids so sometimes dinner time is a bit crazy! (and this also means our house is often quiet at night for kids bedtime)

    A stay with us will mean you can enjoy all the Mid North Coast has to offer with its quaint small towns and real country feel whilst still being so close to pristine beaches. We will teach what we can about our market garden and farm. We hope to hear from you soon!
    Cheers 🙂

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    We use organic practices, including using beneficial plants, mulching, organic pest management (which includes paying the kids 10cents for every caterpillar they find!) etc.

    Special Conditions

    We are a young family of 4, with 2 kids aged 8 and 5. Non smokers only please.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Soil conservation, Mulching, Animal care, Using & caring for tools, Preserving & processing food, Marketing produce

    Courses and Events

    In the future we will be running market gardening courses..

    My Details

    Name

    Tim

    Partners Name

    Kirrily

    Gender

    Family

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    1 WWOOFer

    Preferred length of Stay

    1-2 weeks, 2-4 weeks

    Accommodation

    Separate Building

    Other options

    Non-Smoking, No Children

    Meal Procedures

    Share most meals, Share cooking

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    All diets catered for

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest