Download the New iPhone WWOOF App now!Read More

Donna Rose

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    Burbank Brisbane

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Short Property Description

    My husband and I live with our 4 teenage children, on 25acres in Burbank, (25 min from Brisbane City). I run two small businesses from home, organic food boxes and (equine assisted learning) an experiential horse program (providing mindfulness and life skills for youth and adults). Our organic market garden is small scale; 20m2 and a 120m food forest. We have a fertigation pump – so use alot of biodynamic principals, adding minerals to our water to build our soil and grow nutrient-dense food. Our main growing season is from March to November. We then seed green crops over the 3 months of summer . Our horse facilities include an arena and 3 irrigated grass paddocks. Our family of animals are ; 4 horses, 3 dogs, 15 chickens, one hive of bees and a large worm farm. Your job description would be to help me with all my daily jobs – weeding, gardening and bush regeneration, fence maintenance and managing water erosion, managing the market garden -preparing beds, sowing, growing, harvesting, packing weekly produce, animal care and feeding, meal prepping for ourselves, cleaning our own spaces. We work together as a team, learning and supporting each other as we go. Your accommodation is separate, 100m from our family home, it is a shed with transportable bedrooms, with a kitchen, bathroom and airconditioner (we recently lived in the shed for 18months as we were renovating our home). It is a fun way to experience living in the bush whilst being close to the city. We work 5 days, (25hrs/wk) Monday to Friday and have weekends off.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Biodynamic practices & techniques, Permaculture design practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Soil conservation, Mulching, Worm farming, Beekeeping, Animal care, Bread making, Marketing produce

    My Details

    Name

    Donna Rose

    Gender

    Family

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    Separate Building

    Other options

    Smoking allowed, No Children

    Meal Procedures

    Eat separately, Share some meals, Food provided, cook your own

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    All diets catered for (mixed meals)

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    I have created an outdoor lifestyle and love growing food and working with horses and people. But it is too much work for one person. Plus, it is more fun working with other people and there is always jobs to be done. In the past I’ve had help from backpackers and local youth. This is the first time I’ve engaged with WWOOF ,I would like to make this a permanent routine encouraging woofers to stay from March to November. We enjoy learning about other cultures and love the enthusiasm of backpackers travelling and enjoying Australia. We have had backpackers staying from France, Germany, Thailand, and England over the years. The last couple were French who were wonderful, they stayed for 6 months. They work hard, learn lots and have a lot of fun too.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest