New iPhone App coming soon. Read More

Aziza De Fazio

Host Profile

    My Property

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Short Property Description

    The property is a hobby farm located on 5 acres about an hour north of Melbourne. We keep chickens, sheep, bees and have a veggie patch and orchard. The house has solar panels, water tanks, and a septic sysytem. It is not fully off-grid, but not far from it. Ruby our kelpie keeps everything in check. 🙂

    Full Property Description

    The property is located at the foothills of the Kinglake ranges. There is a nature reserve within walking or riding distance from the property, which is perfect for walks in the bush and mountain biking. There is also a golf range within walking distance. A short drive away is Kinglake, which provides many attractions such as bush walks, a treetop adventures course and beautiful cafes. Further from that is the Yarra valley, known for its vineyards. Public transport is not the best around here, but I am happy to drop off/pick up from Whittlesea, which has regular buses.

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    We grow everything organically, and use chicken and sheep manure, as well as oak leaves and prunings to make compost to feed the soil. I used biodynamic methods for a few years, but no longer do so. Irrigation is a mixture of rain water from water tanks, and dam water. At the moment there isn’t much growing in the veggie patch, but I am wanting to remedy that.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Mulching, Worm farming, Beekeeping, Animal care, Making tools, Bread making, Fermenting foods, Preserving & processing food

    My Details

    Name

    Aziza De Fazio

    Gender

    Family

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    1 WWOOFer

    Preferred length of Stay

    3-7 days, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    Separate Building

    Other options

    Non-Smoking, Children allowed by arrangement

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together

    Languages spoken

    English, French

    Diets we cater for

    Vegetarian meals

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    I have wanted to host WWOOFers for many years now, but never got around to it, mainly because I didn’t have appropriate accommodation. I now have the use of a tiny house that can sleep two people. I love meeting new people and sharing my knowledge with anyone interested. I would also love to get some help around the property. Some of the jobs needed to be done are working on pruning and bird-proofing the orchard, getting the veggie garden ready for autumn planting, and maybe some handy-man type work.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest