Amelia Braithwaite

Wwoofer Profile

About Me

Personal Bio

*tldr physiotherapy student with significant previous work experience, loves horses and sport*

Hello! My name is Amelia and I’m a 22F from the Gold Coast of Queensland, Australia. I’m currently a 4th year Physiotherapy student at The University of Queensland and have a special interest in paediatric physiotherapy. I love sport (especially soccer, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and running), animals, getting amongst nature and good food and drink. I was born in Stanthorpe, Queensland and this is most likely where my passion for horses (and apple cider) stems from. I have been lucky enough to do heaps of international travel as a young person, including New York, Hawaii, Tonga, France, Italy, Spain, Thailand and Iceland. The highlight so far has been riding an Icelandic horse along the Gullfoss Waterfall in Iceland and experiencing the tolt!

Important things: I have my own transport, valid driver’s license and am an Australian citizen

About me: I have a wicked dark sense of humour and playful nature but I am also the most hard working person I know. What I lack in physical stature I make up for in grit, willingness to learn and determination.

My experience with farms and animals is as follows: I have helped with picking for grape harvesting at an esteemed Granite Belt, Qld winery. I love all animals! I have grown up with 2 family dogs and adopted a cat of my own; my skill set includes feeding, exercise, routine medical care and recognising the need for veterinary intervention. Horse riding experience is dotted throughout my life, however, cursed as many crazy horse girls are, I have lived in a city nearly my whole life. Santa never tethered a pony to the hills-hoist in the backyard, unfortunately. Three years ago, I began volunteering for Riding for the Disabled Australia; my role involved feeding, cleaning, tacking up, warming up horses, leading horses and correcting rider posture. As a kid, my family did heaps of renovations on our house so I am not afraid of a bit of hard work! I can’t make any wild claims about my skills with different tools, but I am a diligent learner and a hard worker.

Some other skills that might be useful: I am a qualified (Sports Medicine Australia) First Aider and Sports Trainer, meaning that I am able to attend to acute injuries and emergency first aid situations. Certificates are available on request.

I love children and am open to learning more about child care if this is something your family requires help with. I am a current BlueCard holder and have had a criminal history check (available on request). I love sport and fitness activities, as well as games and boardgames so would be very willing to engage with children this way. I am also an accomplished university student so am able to tutor and assist children with a variety of subjects including high school Chemistry, Mathematics B/Methods, English, Legal Studies and Biology. If applicable, I am also able to tutor university level human movement studies, anatomy and essay writing and basic (think AMEB grade 1-3) music tutoring including violin, flute and tenor saxophone.

I am a decent cook and baker, my favourite things to make at the moment are Tantanmen Ramen (not out of a packet lol, make all the jokes you want about uni students) and Cinnamon Scrolls. Although I’m not vegetarian, I love eating vego and have a host of excellent vego recipes under my belt because I am a poor uni student! I would love to learn more about cooking, baking and preserving the products on your farm 🙂

Coffee is one of the great passions of my life and being a Barista has given me tough hands and grit. I have worked at Merlo Coffee UQ since February 2017. All Merlo Baristas undergo a rigorous year-long training process that involves the guidance of experienced and talented Baristas within the company. This process ensures that every coffee we serve is made to the highest standard every time. I think that this extensive training process sets me apart because it means that I’ve really put in the hours to become a skilled and knowledgeable Barista. The Merlo Coffee UQ store serves an absolutely staggering amount of coffee on a daily basis. I would estimate that on average, the primary coffee machine alone (there are three altogether) pours at least 15kg worth of coffee over a 12-hour period. The craziness of the UQ store has prepared me for anything and everything. I smile in the face of 20 caffeine-deprived students and lecturers lining out the door! I love getting into my flow behind the machine during busy periods. My responsibilities include customer service, training and leading of staff, managing shift i.e. resolving customer conflict, till reconciliation, ordering goods and finance management. This also makes me a horrendous caffeine addict, but rest assured I will bring my own supplies! I am a natural early bird but you can rely on me to turn up for 6am shifts 🙂

Some extra-curricular stuff that won’t help me build fences but might make me interesting: I am currently the current Chair of Allied Health for TROHPIQ, Queensland’s biggest rural health club. As part of my role, I liaise with medical, nursing and allied health students from UQ, QUT, USQ, ACU and CQU as part of our endeavour to support health students on placement in rural and remote regions. These endeavours include but aren’t limited to clinical skills days and rural and remote trips, social events such as our charity gala, rural careers information and advice and promotion of scholarships and bursaries for for placement, such as the CRANAplus allied health scholarship and TROHPIQ SPARQ bursary. As busy students spread out across Queensland, excellent communication, project management and collaborative practice is crucial for executive members of the club.

Last year, I also served as Secretary of the Queensland Physiotherapy Student Association. My role included administration of the club and executive; running meetings, minute taking and handling all correspondence that the club received.

Why I joined WWOOF

To go rural in my own backyard. Unfortunately, I won’t have the chance to go on a rural placement as part of my degree so am looking to go rural and get some horse-y experience under my belt during one of my university breaks.

I am especially interested in WWOOFing experiences that include horse care, mustering or other horse experience activities.

My Details

Name

Amelia Braithwaite

Visa Type/Citizenship

Aust/NZ Citizen

Gender

Female

Country of Origin

Australia

Contact

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest