Alison Killen

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    The Garden

    Business Type

    Suburbia

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Short Property Description

    This is a good sized garden in the northern suburbs of Canberra where we grow a range of temperate-climate fruit, vegetables and flowers for home use and to gift to friends and neighbours. Visitors will have a comfy bedroom in our house with good wifi coverage.
    We are looking for people interested in short stays (3-7 days) to do 4-5 hours general gardening a day, leaving plenty of time to explore Canberra. I can pick up from the airport, train or bus station.

    Full Property Description

    Our garden produces a good range of vegetables, fruit and flowers. We have over 30 fruit trees, including pomes, stone fruit and citrus, as well as a number of bramble berries. I am constantly experimenting, pulling out plants that do not perform well to try something different, so the trees are at different stages of maturity. Tasks include the full range of gardening, such as propagating, planting out, weeding, harvesting, pruning, netting fruit trees, maintaining the watering system, activities to build the soil, and monitoring and control of pests and diseases using organic methods, informed by permaculture principles. There may also be opportunities to help with preserving the harvest using methods such as freezing, drying and bottling (this is the same as what Americans call canning).
    Visitors live in the house with my partner and I, my adult son and his partner. We also have a medium sized and friendly dog who will want to be your friend. You will have your own comfortable bedroom and be able to access our wifi. Breakfast is self-serve, lunch and dinner are sometimes prepared and eaten together, sometimes we all do our own thing. Most diets can be catered for, including vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free. There is no smoking in the house.
    Melba is a leafy suburb that includes pleasant walks beside a creek or through bush land. The house is 5 minutes from a bus stop, giving access to the city and attractions such as the many museums, parks and art galleries that make Canberra a popular destination. There is a bike available if you like to cycle, and I will sometimes be available to provide a lift in the car if required.

    Special Conditions

    No smoking in the house. One person preferred, though couples will be considered. Most diets can be catered for. Must be ok with dogs. Stays of 4-6 days preferred.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Gardening, Propagating, Pruning, Mulching, Preserving & processing food

    My Details

    Name

    Alison Killen

    Gender

    Family

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    1 WWOOFer

    Preferred length of Stay

    3-7 days

    Accommodation

    In Our Home

    Other options

    No Smoking Inside

    Meal Procedures

    Share most meals

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    Meat, Vegetarian, Vegan, Gluten free

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest