Alison Abbott

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    River Meadows

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Farming methods

    Permaculture

    Short Property Description

    We have a small 15 acre hobby farm with direct access to the beautiful Huon River. We’ve recently started our setup and looking forward to having a self sustaining life in our semi retirement. There are loads of different jobs that need to be done.

    Full Property Description

    There is a very large veggie patch, with a second poly tunnel with raised bed in the making. We have 16 sheep and lambs, 2 steers, 1 cow and calf, plus numerous chickens and ‘Trevor’ the turkey. Oh, and our dog ‘Janet’.

    There loads of things to do in the area – bushwalking, kayaking, fly fishing, exploring other local villages. There are usually 2 or 3 farmers markets each weekend.

    We also have a two bedroom Airbnb cottage on the property, that we maintain and manage.

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    We are commited to using permaculture in our vegetable patches. We are also discovering traditional ways of cooking, preserving, and fermenting food.

    Our animals are raised in the most free range way possible. We want them to have a happy, healthy life.

    Special Conditions

    We would prefer WWOOFERS to have their own work clothes & safety shoes. We’re also looking for WWOOFERS who are happy  to put in a solid work effort, plus  show some initiative. We are flexible with times you would like to work, but we would like a minimum of 25 hrs hard work with another 10hrs lighter work per week. You will have you’re own comfortable room and bathroom and you will be fed very well. If you like cooking I love help in the kitchen took

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Permaculture design practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Mulching, Worm farming, Beekeeping, Animal care, Dairy, Using & caring for tools, Building, Fencing, Handyman, Bread making, Fermenting foods, Preserving & processing food

    My Details

    Name

    Alison Abbott

    Partners Name

    Paul Dew

    Gender

    Couple

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    1-2 weeks, 2-4 weeks

    Accommodation

    In Our Home, BYO Accommodation

    Other options

    No Smoking Inside

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together, Share some meals, Food provided, cook your own

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    Fish, Meat, Vegetarian

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    We would love to share setting up our self sustainable life with others. I enjoy cooking from scratch (even milling my own flour) and Paul enjoys growing stuff and raising a few animals. We’d love some help (about 4hrs per day) with getting our land to be more productive and looking nice for our Airbnb guests.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest