How is the new website working for you?

Home Forums General Discussion about WWOOFing How is the new website working for you?

This topic contains 45 replies, has 15 voices, and was last updated by Fiona & Paul Rossiter 3 hours, 45 minutes ago.

  • Author
    Posts
  • #31447

    Hi, We sat by patiently waiting for our welcome email to set up our profile for the new look page. Eventually emailing WWOOF to see what the holdup was. Super fast response with our new details, but I don’t see a lo of helpful information about the new structure. Obviously from the numerous posts in the General WWOOFing Discussion of Hosts looking for WOOFers, they too are unclear that their request would go in the Search – Noticeboard – section. Then unfortunately we have Hosts posting in the WOOFer section, making it all a bit higgledy piggledy. I also am worried that the map shows so few hosts. I love the new mapping feature by the way, and also the availability calendar, but do you have questions about how to go about using the new website? This site is a medium for communication, how about we, as members, help where possible to make is work for everyone. I have had a look around the site and might be able to help with some questions, alternately do you have insight into how to get the most out of the system. Pretty sure everyone knows how to update their profile, but literally no question is too small of ‘nooby’ because we all start somewhere.

  • #31450

    Robbie Collins
    Participant

    I managed to update my profile no probs. But then I couldn’t set location and now that is available that makes the map look better and me findable by map.
    I haven’t yet figured out how to make the calendar work for me. but will when I next have more than a moment.

  • #31451

    VB260
    Participant

    We have pretty well given up with it.
    This current Japanese woman may well be our last WWOOFer.
    Rob and Leyla Johnson.

  • #31461

    Ann & Scott Cains
    Participant

    Our messages from 18 days ago just started showing up. Also would’ve like to see more detailed mandatory info on wwoofer profiles like skills, diet, smoker/non, etc

    It’s a bit clunky but definitely a step up from the horrible app. Hoping it’s a work in progress.

    Ann

  • #31462

    Does anyone know how to delete a conversation in my messages? Also how do you find where it shows who has liked or followed you? Other than that I seem to be finding it OK and we have been getting an uptake in inquiries, so a big plus there. I like the locator map and I would like to see more wwoofers use this and at least say where they are looking to go.

  • #31463

    QO197
    Participant

    I have found the new site to be very user unfriendly. The pages are bloated out & take too long to load. Being in a rural area I don’t have a fast connection so I sit waiting for pages to load. Considering the pages are mostly text, in this minimalist looking site, it is a bit frustrating. The forum is now broken into different links & this is also confusing. I feel the site has been made for a corporate kind of structure & this takes away from the WWOOF ethos of sharing & friendliness. My preference is for the old site. Maybe I am a bit old fashioned & don’t like change but that is probably common with WWOOF type people. The government has done enough to bring down WWOOF & I think this site is not going to help. Sorry for the gripe but I haven’t enjoyed using the new site. None-the-less I hope this feedback can help to improve things.
    Allan & Julie
    PS Now I have scrolled down to submit this post I see the ‘submitting’ button next to the ‘submit’ button. What is that for?

  • #31464

    Jackie, firstly I don’t like the fact I can’t reply to your comment, rather it just coms up as another post. Hmmm frustrating if people want to expand a specific point.

    Cannot see anywhere that allows for deletion of a comment. Particularly painful when you press return as you type. All of my posts start with Hi. then the next message with oops. followed by the actual message. We too have had an uptake in enquiries, but I worry that this may be due to not everyone making the change. Our first email said wait until you get the LOGIN EMAIL, which we never received, rather contacted WWOOF to get access. Also there are so few on the map it means that this great resource cannot be fully utilised. I hope too that WWOOFers use the map feature also, but not sure if they would invest the time into doing it.

    No list on who has liked or followed you, you just have to keep the emails that the system sends you when they do follow you.

  • #31465

    Allan & Julie. I am not a big fan of the fact that our names were set up as our membership number by default. And for you guys with slower net speeds, why would you want to set up a cover image and profile picture that will increase the download of your own page each time you deal with it. On saying that I do like theft w can set up a picture for this, but understand the limitations.

    They have obviously gone for the clean cut styling. but there is a lot of open space on the page, and even with my large display I have to scroll all over the place. The forum setup is a big issue for me, particularly where can we, as hosts, make comments on the site etc.

    Not sure if it is vital to see who the last activity on the site is from, I would think that the forums info may be more beneficial. I also see the site is more about the WWOOFers, with focus on how they use the site or contact hosts, but until al of the hosts are up and happy, where is the benefit for a WWOOFer to come here. Australia is pretty damn big, and yet the map has us as 250 ish Hosts in total. Surely there is more than that.

    As for the 2 buttons, no idea, I pressed submitting for the last post and it worked the same as submit.

    Not everyone like change, but that is also different to not liking the changes. I do hope this feedback will go somewhere, and if we can discuss it more them perhaps some of the amendments could happen. Perhaps some feedback from hosts before the change would have meant that there would be less issues after the fact.

    Thanks to everyone for at least commenting, so I don’t feel like I alone am expecting perhaps a bit more from the site.

    Terry

  • #31475

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    Hi all, I hope I can shed some light on the issues raised above. All very good points. It would be good to keep this posting going with any issues you discover.

    There are extensive videos available on the FAQ page. There is a video on how to set your location, update your calendar, upload images for your gallery … everything we could think of. These are all only 1-2 minutes long … not much time to take to view them over a period of time when it suits.

    We have had issues with getting existing Members setup in the system. We had to somehow upload you all from the existing Mobile App, and get your details in. This has never been attempted before with a site such as this. Thus we had to create a username & password for you all. Regrettably the username cannot be changed once it is set, and we had to use your existing Member ID’s as the username. New Members who signup get to choose their Username. There were other issues with this process, but I believe we’ve managed to get through them with the excellent assistance of the Admin at WWOOF Office.

    Submit button fixed. These are the little tweaks we need to hear about. Only 1 button now 🙂

    Notice Board – we have just found a bug where Hosts requests for WWOOFers are somehow finding their way into the Hosts Wanted Notices. We hadn’t foresaw that a new Member who had not been Activated as yet, (thus not a WWOOFer or a Host in the system), was able to find the Noticeboard page and Post a Notice … and it defaulted to posting their notice as a Host wanted. Will be fixed today.

    Messages in the instant Messaging/Chat program, Messages can not be deleted. This will go onto our Feature List for the near future.

    Hitting Enter in the Messaging/Chat will send your message. This is a standard action in Chat programs i.e. Facebook. If you want a new line, you use “Shift Enter” … we’ll try to make this clearer. The messaging is not a forum, it’s an instant chat. We are also developing “notifications” that will let you know when you have a reply or new message. This is being developed as the new Mobile App is completed, so we’ve just got to wait for that.

    Followers – this feature is about to be switched on. You will find a “My Followers” menu under your My Profile main men. This will show you who has placed you in their Favourites (following you).

    Forum – replying to comments: this just happens to be the nature of this forum. It’s the same software as used by many forums (not the old wwoof forum), and thus we must adapt. I agree and we’ll look into that ability to reply to a Post within a Topic. On the Feature List!

    The speed of the site is still an issue. This is because we’re still in launch mode and still testing for bugs. Once things have settled down, then we will activate the Cacheing and Zipping and all the other tools at our disposal to speed up the site. Who would have thought this country had an NBN? (not here!).

    I do agree with the confusion mentioned – having Notice Boards, Messaging and Forums. I personally would drop either the Notice Board or the Forum for simplicity sake.

    I hope I have covered everything so far. If not, please comment further.

  • #31486

    Thanks heaps for this, please understand it isn’t an attack on WOOF, just a means to get on the same page about details that we would like tweaked, or think are an issue. And I thought it better to open as a forum question than everyone getting frustrated or sending individual messages to admin.

    Keep on keeping peeps.And yeah, add anything else 🙂

  • #31491

    I know WWOOF meant well- but I cant see the point in making a web-site that is difficult and confusing to use.
    For example, I cant find an equivalent to the place where I could see how many potential WWOOFers had looked at my posting.
    And why have Notice board, Messaging and Forum.
    Please think through whether the tools are 1. useful or 2. confusing. If confusing, please don’t feel obliged to use them. Simple IS better, especially as many WWOOF hosts are NOT IT-savvy and NOT easily able to interpret IT-speak.
    Please consider if change is being implemented for the sake of change or to make the web-site clearer to ALL users.

  • #31515

    I like the look of the new site- very slick.
    the oppening page though- I know you want to get more people in, but it repeats about 500 times, and no info past that. its is a chore to find profiles and forum, which I think is the main reason for the site to exist.

    Since the main reason for the forum is bringing hosts and Wwoofers together- I think it is very strange that this section has been removed/ is unfindable.
    Dividing in states made sense.
    Now it is just a jumble of topics. at least ad a good search function- and divide people looking for hosts/helpers and discussions.
    Not quite there yet, but better then it was.

    cheers,
    aukje

  • #31547

    NT162
    Participant

    I find this a nightmare to navigate. I’ll stick to Helpex until its sorted out.
    Regards Tas

  • #31602

    Thanks for everyone’s input so far. I have another query….in my messages there is a button for see profile so that you can check out the person you are having a conversation with, presumably. However when I click on it, it just goes to our own profile….although it did go to the other persons profile on one occasion, so this is what I think is meant to happen?.. Has anyone else experienced this?

  • #31605

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    Jackie & David – re the Profile button, yes it is supposed to show the profile of the one you are chatting with. Chat notifications are coming soon, along with the new Mobile App. We’ll double check the coding for that button.

  • #31606

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    COMPLICATED, HARD TO NAVIGATE, UNUSABLE … these are some of the comments we’ve received via this Forum … and mostly coming from Hosts, not WWOOFers.

    I am one of the web developers and would like to understand what all this means, so we can make your experience on WWOOF more productive and easier.

    The way I see it is:

    Once you’re a Member, you basically will only ever use 3 pages. All very clearly marked in the TOP menu.

    Search – Map search or List search … is this not very clear?

    Notice Board – post your “wanted ads here” … complicated?

    When you find someone in the Search or Notice Board you click their link and go to their Profile. Read it, then either Follow them (add them to your Favourites for later reference), or contact them via their Contact details (email, phone) or Send them a Message.

    I truly don’t understand the complexity that is being talked about?

    Enlighten me please so we can improve our service for you.

    In my opinion as a web developer, the Forums are the most unfriendly and “full of other stuff” places to be trying to find WWOOFers or Hosts. They’re a throw-back from the first days of the Internet as a way of communicating with anyone. However, we need your feedback and will re-instate the old Forum features if it’s truly needed.

  • #31614

    Thankyou webmaster.

    I agree that there needs to be distinction between things we can fix, and things we need to learn how to do the new way.

    An example – I think something that could use a fix is that in the Noticeboard section (Under Search Menu) when I – a host from Victoria – would like to just see the WWOOFers that are available to me, I choose Vic. Except that it does not include the WWOOFers that have set their location as all. So they could in fact come to Victoria, they are just not specific, like the ones that have set Victoria. So to see them I have to set it to all, where I see the posts for everywhere – including the ALL. So can we please have it that when I choose as a host to see Victoria available WWOOFers, I see those with it set to BOTH Vic, and All.

    The other example – I LOVE the new message system even tho it took me a bit to work it out. WHY you ask? Well you see before when it was through the Forum, I would get frustrated when a WWOOFer was travelling through Western Victoria looking for a host (Yay – that could be me) gets replied to by 6 other hosts from NSW or QLD telling them to go there. This way those hosts can still do that, but I don’t have to see them doing it. And ignorance can be bliss. The other thing is how many WWOOFers are our age people! We need to use a system that they understand or else they will go somewhere that does. So as long as we steer clear of #hashtags and emoticons, I am willing try this new communication style.

    And, not to sound presumptuous, but are we not getting feedback on our feedback pretty damn fast here. Some websites or platforms would have us dangling forever to even get a hint that someone is listening. And here we have not just listening but OMG — Only 1 submit button — within 48 hours of a please explain.

    Lets give the system a chance and find meaningful errors to poke fun at.

  • #31634

    Ann & Scott Cains
    Participant

    Dear Webmaster, Is it possible to add another couple of sections to wwoofer profiles? “Skills I Have” and “Any Medical Conditions”?

    It would make the searching for wwoofers so much easier if we are looking for specific skills and also give us instant info on allergies or medical conditions that would preclude some jobs.

    Thanks! Ann

  • #31636

    Looks great but I am struggling to find my way around eg. how to renew my membership and how to change my password…where do I look for these details….otherwise it is very spicko guys!

  • #31639

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    Kim & Terry – great post, that’s what we need to see. Detailed problems or detailed feature requests. All requests that you guys make (meaning everyone) are noted and taken onboard.

    Some of the fixes we’ve done so far from your suggestions:
    1. Fixed that submit button 🙂
    2. Moved “Latest Forum Posts” to the top of the right hand column
    3. Enabled Search for Member ID’s (the ones used in the old Mobile App for WWOOFers) in the List Search page.
    4. Enabled all the existing Host Farms that still haven’t logged in yet to update their Profile (in List Search)

    Re the Notice Board – (UPDATED) I understand the issue there. We’ve looked at the existing coding, and it’s not possible (so far) to implement that change (show Victoria & All) … now we think about it, we should have had tick boxes when you do a New Notice … Vic, NSW, Qld, All etc. The way it is, we’d have to “break” all existing notices to change the Filters. We’ll keep pondering it though.

    No hashtags I promise 🙂

  • #31640

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    Ann & Scott, WWOOFers already have a section for the skills they wish to learn, but it’s up to them to tick the boxes, so you see that on their Profile page. We didn’t put it in as a “Search Box” because many just don’t fill it out, and they’d be omitted from those search results.

    However, we are thinking of adding more “Detail” to the List Search Results … so instead of only showing their Name and Brief Intro, we’ll also show what languages they speak, skills if possible and any other fields that may be useful to Hosts.

    We’re doing the same for Host Results … show their Farm type, Farming methods etc, so you don’t have to keep going to each Profile everytime but can filter whilst on the actual search page.

    Storing Medical Conditions means we’ll be storing “Sensitive Information” instead of just “Personal Information” on our webserver. Even though all data is encrypted (SSL) the legal Australian government requirements increase exponentially when you start collecting Sensitive Information … and we have to have a really good reason for doing so. We may have to give this one a miss.

    But any other info you think WWOOFers should be displaying, let us know.

    • #31677

      Ann & Scott Cains
      Participant

      Thank you for your response. I can see the issue with storing sensitive info.

      I have seen both wwoofer and host profile pages. At this point Host pages have a lot more relevant info. In regard to skills. I’m not asking what skills they want to learn, I want to know what skills the have that they can share with me. I.E. webdesign, carpentry, forestry/tree pruning, etc. It makes it easier for me to give them a variety of jobs if they have skills and of course makes them more desirable if they have a skill I need. I’ve tried using the search function but because the info wwoofers are giving is so slim it’s been hard going.

      I realize this is an evolving process. Thank you for responding so quickly to feedback.
      Ann

  • #31641

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    Brett & Leonie – to change your Password, go to the My Profile menu link at the top of the page. Then select the dropdown – Settings. There you must put in your existing password, then put your new password in twice. Save and you’re done.

    To Renew, go again to My Profile menu, in the dropdown menu the last option is “Renew”. Just click that, choose your Renewal Membership, and pay by Credit Card, PayPal or Bank Transfer.

    Make sure you read the intro text before renewing, so you know what to expect.

  • #31665

    G’day we have just joined Wwoof and so far we are both finding the experience very negative having trouble with the web site finding it difficult to navigate and use we have left phone messages for help and don’t get a call back we get no answer when we ring in the times you say is the office hours. Lets hope thing improve in the future we are also with Helpx so dealing with type of thing is not new to us.Sorry for the rocket hope the feedback helps you to lift your game. John

  • #31669

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    Patricia and John, I suspect you joined on Melbourne Cup Holiday. Office was closed. Your messages will be responded to.

    Have you checked out the FAQ Videos? If so, what are you finding difficult?

    Filling out your Profile fully is probably the most challenging part of the new member exercise. Once that’s done, it’s basically a “set and forget” .. then you just use the Search pages, Noticeboard and Forums.

    If your payment hasn’t been fully processed, your account is limited and will appear like you can’t get anything done. The WWOOF Office will tend to it today.

  • #31710

    we didn’t join on Melbourne cup holiday it was the Friday before.And the only thing that has happened in a reasonable amount of time is our money was taken quick smart. Could you tell me why on the location map our location icon is in red and there is a green icon as well on the map no where near us. I cant seem to get rid of the green icon. Thanks a frustrated John

  • #31717

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    John, on the Map at the bottom of your Profile the following markers are:

    Red = the address you entered when you “Set Your Location” – anyone who visits your Profile ONLY sees this marker.

    Green = your Geo-Location – this is a combo of Google Maps and your Web Browser attempting to say “this is where you really are” … relevant on a mobile phone, but on a PC it usually comes from your Internet Provider source or if you’re logged into a Google account, it’ll detect you by various means. ONLY you see this marker, no-one else. So you can just ignore this.

    on the Map Search page, the icons are as follows:

    Red – Host Farms
    Green – WWOOFers
    You – Blue

    I was speaking to the WWOOF Office yesterday and yes, they are swamped with messages and a staff member isn’t well, so they’re a bit snowed under atm.

    Hope this helps

  • #31718

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    We’ve updated the List Search results page to show more info at a glance when searching for Members.

    For WWOOFers we’ve added:
    Language they speak:
    Gender:
    Skills I would like to learn:

    For Host Farms:
    City/Town: (so Hosts fill the City/Town field in your “Edit Profile”)
    Farming Methods:
    Accommodation type:

    We understand from Host feedback they would like more detailed information on the WWOOFers. We are considering adding more “questions” for them to fill out, such as their current Skillset/Qualifications/Achievements etc, limitations, competencies …

    Ascertaining exactly where a WWOOFer is, is not so easy. They are a transient folk. Getting them to fill in their “Location” everytime they move is unrealistic, and we don’t display their address info we collect at signup because they are more often than not in a foreign country at time of signup. Thus, they must use the “Set my Location” feature if they want to be found. We will be encouraging this.

    We’ll post a new article under “News” explaining this and other upgrades as we go.

  • #31788

    Patricia Bullen
    Participant

    Hi – I am new to Woofing and although the website looks nice it is not very useable when searching for hosts.

    I do a search for hosts and a selction appears. I then go into the profile for one of the hosts and when I have finished reading and click on back it does not take me back to the search results but to the new search starting point. This is very frustrating and making the whole process super slow and cumbersome. I am very disappointed and feel like giving up.

    I am not very happy with my Wwoofing experience so far. I have also emailed many hosts but have not had one single response from anyone. Is this programme really fuctioning effectively?

    Many Thanks

    Patricia

  • #31789

    Patricia Bullen
    Participant

    When I do a search through the list search, find a host and send a message, then hit the send button – nothing happens. It oes not send. This is terrible.

    When I search for a host using their name in the map search section – nothing happens…

  • #31790

    Patricia Bullen
    Participant

    When I type a word into the search bar in the map search section – it brings up results that don’t have this word in at all. Making this function completely useless. Am I the only one having these problems? I am shocked by how poor this process is. I feel totally let down and cheated. What’s the money going towards?

  • #31791

    Patricia Bullen
    Participant

    When I am typing messages to hosts and hit the return key to create a new paragraph the message sends… this isn’t good. I have sent so many half messages.

    I read the reply from the webmaster above who explained this by saying it was a chat messaging system which is why this was set up. In reality it is NOT a chat messaging system. A chat messaging system is when two people are online at once and are chatting spontaneously backwards and forwards. It means that both people would know that the other person was online and available to speak before starting a conversation.

    It is quite obvious that on the Wwoof website what is actually happening is that people are sending messages/mails to each other and waiting hours/days for a response. I think it would be better to remove this ‘return and send’ function. As a Woofer I am trying to present a good impression of myself by providing digestible pieces of information by using paragraphs and not sending half messages. It is absolutely an automatic process for everyone who uses computers to hit the return key to create a new paragraph. It is automatic to typing and to try to get people to stop doing isn’t going to happen… sorry.

    I appreciate you are trying to make Wwoof better through this website and that is great. But as a Wwoofer I totally feel like giving up. It is so unuseable. Sorry 🙁

    So, far I have posted a message on the forum stating my availability and have sent many messages to hosts. I have had no responses. At first they were all personalised but I cannot do this anymore as it is too time consuming when I am not getting any responses.

    My main issue is that when conducting a search you cannot go back to search results after looking closer at a profile. You have to do a new search every single time, going through the same slow steps and slow page reloads just to get to the information you already had before, and then you have to do it all over again, and again, and again…

    Please, please change this as quickly as possible, please….

  • #31792

    Ann & Scott Cains
    Participant

    Hi People..Scott here..My lovely missus Ann has given her views..I thought I would give mine …

    Does anyone else wonder why a single guy built a website and set up a worldwide hosting success story like Helpx by himself with over 8000 hosts in australia already in a few short years…?…Short answer ; its a very simple ,user friendly and very dynamic website..I’m convinced that too many people build websites for themselves and their clients without a true understanding of their target market..

    For example,within seconds of logging on to Helpx..I can very quickly see if I have any messages,I can have an idea if his information is likely to be current because it shows when he last updated..I can see if he was being selective by sending an email to us or if he sent the same or similar message 1 or 50 times and where he was sending them to (ie..did he send this same message to 35 hosts in 4 different states..)..I can see his references, if any, and whether or not he is likely to be a double booker or “no-shower”via a facility that he cant see unless I want him too..

    I can also see when he joined (ie was it just yesterday and they are still in their home country but sending out multiple emails and wasting the time of hosts..)

    How old are they..? are they an 18 year old sub adult on gap year for 5 weeks that just looking for a holiday and someone to look after them because they cant and have no money or are they a more mature person..

    And whats with the availability calendar..are we a hotel now..?..concierge waiting in the lobby..?..that will do more harm then good as I can see that not being updated and it also made lead to complaints against the host if the situation doesnt work out and they are asked to leave early(ie I was booked into this date and they kicked me out) ..how about a “last updated” date which brings you to the top of the list as available..if you are near the bottom of the list and your last updated date was 10/7/2016 then most would assume that you are not looking for wwoofers..

    as for the “skills I would like to learn” for wwoofers ..I can see that leading to high expectations and some disappointment..(ie I booked into the farm for 3 days and wanted to learn about honey production but they made me pull weeds instead..there has to be flexibility )

    Anyway as you may have guessed I dont like the website..if I have to look at a tutorial to be able to navigate it its not simple enough..we find most people dont even bother to read the FAQ on our website….good luck but Helpx will continue to dominate this market..(hint,hint…look at their website..)

  • #31797

    Hi
    Rather than having a public whinge I actually sent a message via “contact us” as I felt it was appropriate, the comments I left were both complimentary but also querying other issues/problems we are experiencing with the new website.
    However this was several days ago and still not heard anything 🙁
    So here’s my penny’s worth.

    When going to the search tab it immediately goes to hosts and obviously we are looking for wwoofers, not a huge problem just got to remember to switch.
    On the map search it asks for geolocation, slight problem there as we are on satellite and it sees us based in Melbourne, so not easy for us to use the facility ☹

    Renewal due but seriously thinking of not bothering 🙁
    Cath

  • #31798

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    Patricia, just quick response for now, then more detailed later. Re the searching issue of clicking on a Host, and then not being able to go back to your search results. There are “technical” reasons for this (Ajax searching) … however, if when you find a Host on the Map, then “right click and Open in a New Tab” … the Host Profile will then open in a new tab (you could open half a dozen of them at once), and then you would still have your original Search page still open with your results.

    Re the “Hit Enter to Send” … we copied the most popular Messaging system on the planet. Facebook. We didn’t think we could go wrong with that. Usually when you do it mistakenly once, you don’t do it again. I know old habits die hard … but …

    We know there are many improvements to make and we’re listening to all your feedback. WWOOF Australia have just come from 20+ years of operating a Paper based Book, which listed all Hosts in a Book. This has been a monumental jump for them in technology.

  • #31799

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    Cath, the Map Geo Location issue .. that’s why we encourage you to click the “Set Map Location” button … as it then asks you for an address/location of your choice (not determined by browsers or location devices) … then, and only then, will you show up on the Map.

    Re the default to Hosts … we had to choose one or the other … and for the last 20+ years WWOOF has been all about WWOOFers searching for Hosts, not the other way round.

    For 20+ years WWOOF has only offered WWOOFers a database (in book form and later a basic App) that ONLY listed Host Farms.

    The change in paradigm of Hosts now searching for WWOOFers is a new concept to WWOOF Oz and is now on our “to-do” lists to improve that ability.

    The WWOOF Office has been inundated with emails and requests from existing Host farms getting their Profiles setup. Literally swamped this last 30 days since launch of this new website/system. It’s been a huge change for the Office and the existing Host Farms. That’s a “no excuse” for no reply to your email as yet 🙂

  • #31802

    Thank you for your reply, much appreciated and we fully understand you must be run off your feet.

    We have already set our location when we first changed over to the new site, had no problems doing that as we are very prominent on Google maps and have done this numerous times for other applications including government sites. So yes we are marked as a host in the correct location.

    This is our problem – when we go on the search tab to map search it unfortunately sees us as based in Melbourne so only shows wwoofers in that area. We have to manually move to our location then look around to see who maybe close.

    I hope I have explained sufficiently our issue.
    Many thanks, Cath

  • #31817

    Patricia Bullen
    Participant

    Hi – thanks very much for the response. The advice to create a new tab when looking for hosts is wonderful – thank you.

    I really appreciate all your hard work to provide such a valuable service. Thank you

  • #31819

    We’re feeling a bit bad because we have had Wwoofers contact us to come and volunteer and we had no idea they had left a message on our message page. Previously we would get an email message to notify us that someone has made contact so we could contact them back directly. Can you please bring that back?
    Unfortunately these people have probably moved on because we hadn’t replied.
    When we are in the message section and we try to click on the persons profile it wont take us to that person so we can read their profile. That’s a bit annoying because then you have to make sure you have the extra time to sit and find that person using the right system.
    On a positive note we like the feel and freshness of the site. Plus the communication section on the home page which gives you a brief on who has put something up is helpful.
    The forum is easy to use and the layout is good.
    Thanks
    Fiona and Paul

  • #31828

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    Fiona and Paul, yes we’ve fixed the View Profile button in Messaging. Now when you click it you will visit the Members profile that you’re messaging with.

    Notifications for a New Message are coming. We’re still putting the finishing touches to the new Mobile App, which ties in with all the Website features, and Notifications are an integral part of that … so when the App is launched we’ll also have full Message Notifications on the website.

    Thanks for your comments 🙂

    • #31831

      Thanks for the feedback so soon and it’s great seeing how quickly these things are getting sorted.
      This is a fabulous system beneficial to WWoofers and Hosts.
      Thanks again
      Fiona and Paul

  • #31829

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    Cath, great point re your Marker showing up your Geolocation instead of the Location you set in your Profile.

    The “Near by me” function was designed for WWOOFers searching whilst on the move. Usually via their laptop, tablet or phone.

    However, we’re having a discussion whether to change it to use your Set Location … which would encourage WWOOFers to actually set it if they wanted the “Nearby Me” search to work efficiently for them.

    I can see the future of this site is to customise it more for Host farms searching for WWOOFers, instead of only WWOOFers searching for Hosts. This will include more WWOOFer info they need to fill out (re Scott’s suggestions) and Search pages specifically for finding them.

  • #31844

    Thanks for the reply, yes several years back the wwoof site would have been mainly wwoofers looking or posting. Unfortunately it is now hosts looking for that extra hand.
    Many thanks.

  • #32028

    WWOOF Webmaster
    Keymaster

    More Updates to the site.

    1. Removed All from the Noticeboard “Select Region” box, to encourage users to select a State … Vic, NSW etc. Makes searching more effective.

    2. Added the ability to enter a preferred contact method on Notices … email or phone.

    3. Last Active: is now visible on everyones Profile and appears in Search Results on the List Search page.

    4. More questions for WWOOFers to fill in their Profile. Age and Current Skills. These will be included in Search boxes as WWOOFers fill them out.

    5. Included background colors to make it easier to see the “questions” when Editing your Profile.

    Still to come: change the way the Map displays “your” location when you’re viewing the map, and message notifications.

    Thanks for your patience and feedback xxx

  • #32029

    Thank you 🙂

  • #32031

    Still having issues with activating the profile of a person in the message section. When I click on the persons picture it will not take me to their profile so we can learn more about the person.
    Also we have received no response to messages we have sent back to people in our message section. We would like to think the 10 people we replied to would have sent a message back. We are worried that we are missing opportunities for workers visiting us.
    Keen to have this fixed please
    Fiona and Paul

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest