Heartwood Arboretum & Native Garden

Host Profile

    My Property

    Business Type

    Small/Non-commercial farm

    Farming methods

    Permaculture

    Short Property Description

    Update: I need to book an individual person or couple to stay from 17th January 

     

    Hello, I am a single woman managing a 3 acre bush property & horticultural business.
    The long term goal here is to plant a variety Eucalyptus trees & native plants to transform what used to be an old rock quarry (rock mine) into a Eucalyptus Arboretum.

     

    Around the house I am establishing a natural bush style garden, in Australia it is  called a “dry landscape garden” things are slowly growing but all the plants in the garden are Australian.

    I have 3 active & affectionate dogs, a female Kelpie named Jarrah &  female Border Collie named Indigo and a male Kelpie named Mallee Boy.

    Also a ginger cat name Rusty plus a gorgeous rooster & 10 chooks (Chickens)

    *you must love dogs to stay here*

    Please have a read through my profile including ‘Special Conditions” & if you are interested to make a contribution to my projects or looking for an opportunity to learn new skills & live an outdoors/alternative lifestyle –  I look forward to hearing from you.

    Cheers, Kerry

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    Composting, chicken manure, using all green waste on site, natural bush management & seed collection.

    My Details

    Name

    Heartwood Arboretum & Native Garden

    Partners Name

    Kerry Tinker

    Gender

    Female

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    1-2 weeks, 2-4 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home, Separate Building, Tent

    Other options

    Non-Smoking, No Smoking Inside, No Children, No Pets please

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together, Share some meals, Share most meals, Share cooking

    Languages spoken

    English

    Diets we cater for

    Vegetarian meals, Vegan meals, BYO Special diet foods please

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    For the cultural exchange, to meet people from other countries & talk about their Australian travels plus learning something about their home life.

    I did WWOOF myself in Australia and Canada, it helped me decide to study horticulture.

    I want to provide a learning exchange and have valuable help maintaining  up my property because there is lots of work involved to maintain a 3 acres property all on my own, I am fit and healthy but need to concentrate on my Nursery business and my summer orchard job.

    I also encourage and welcome female wwoofers who are keen for a challenge, to learn new skills and try something new!

    Using a brush cutter is easier that it might seem and can be very rewarding & satisfying.

    If you can drive a car then you can use a brush cutter I say!

    Address

    Contact

    Availability Calendar

    Pin It on Pinterest