Download the New iPhone WWOOF App now!Read More

Search WWOOF Oz

Search keywords (sheep), Member ID, email, Name etc

Select Commercial or Hobby Farm

For Host Farms

For Host Farms

Members directory

Last Active: active 2 days, 7 hours ago
Age: 21-25
Gender: Male
Skills I Want to Learn: Organic Practices, Permaculture/Biodynamics, Biodynamics practices and techniques
To gain new knowledge and skills in organic practices, meet new people, explore new locations, and get down and dirty! Peace out brussel sprout ✌🤣 P.S. Puns and lame dad jokes included in this awesome package. Not a dad yet!
Last Active: active 2 days, 11 hours ago
City/Town: Keilor
Farming Methods: Organic
Accommodation Type: In Our Home, Separate Building, Caravan, Tent
Day's Walk Farm is located just 22km from the Melbourne CBD and Melbourne International Airport by Car - it is a real Certified Organic suburban farm - though it's tucked away in a quieter part of the valley, where a cool river runs lined with red gums. I grow mixed vegetables organically and I am also part of a team that grows young farmers - see farmerincubator.org I have been at this farm since March 2015 and farming is one step at a time - a lot of work! So I could do with a hand. This is a great place for someone who enjoys working outside and cooking with a range of fresh farm produce. Work includes planting seedlings, weeding, whipper snipping, propagating, picking, some building projects and market garden work. We are currently at our peak production of the year, so it's definitely an exciting time to come and experience summer on a pumping commercial market garden. Over the next month or two you can look forward to lots of planting, picking tomatoes and meditative weeding! Accommodation is quite basic on the farm, in an old shed converted into an apartment or a cosy caravan. We use a bush bucket shower and compost toilet. The bus stop is a short walk up the hill, and using the bus and the train you can connect with Melbourne independently on your days off. The internet is accessible via hotspot for emails, for big downloads though you will have to stroll down to one of the two local libraries. (We can't get broadband internet here in the valley, yet...) I ask volunteers to work five days, taking two off. Work stops at lunch time, so the afternoons are free. However, there are also lots of books to read during your down-time, under the trees by the river. We recently bought a few board games too and we're currently installing a shed cinema and ceiling suspended day bed. I regularly get on the mat to do some yoga. Market garden work is quite physical so these activities help to balance life here. Shared meals and cooking using fresh produce from the market garden, mixed diet. No children. No smoking inside. Initial stay 2 weeks, longer stays negotiable. Cannot take WWOOFers in the middle of winter. If you aspire to be a farmer then this is good place to check out. Staying at Day's Walk Farm is certainly an adventure, not a picnic! Thanks ! ! !
Last Active: active 1 week, 2 days ago
City/Town: Mount Cotton
Farming Methods: Organic
Accommodation Type: Separate Building
We are a small, organic, family owned & operated farm situated on the side of beautiful Mt Cotton, a 30min drive to Brisbane & 45min drive to Gold Coast Ashley is a 3rd generation farmer, still working alongside his parents on the land. We grow a mix of small crops plus avocados, citrus, custard apples & nut trees. We also breed heritage chickens, and keep a few head of cattle. We can always do with an extra pair of hands on the farm to help with the many daily jobs, including planting seedlings, mulching, weeding, pruning, mowing, picking, pollinating & caring for our chickens. We have a separate farm cottage accommodation for WWOOFers with toilet, shower & kitchen. We offer some shared meals, plus food provided from the farm for self-catering. Mixed diet. No children. No smoking inside.
Last Active: active 2 months ago
City/Town: Boambee
Farming Methods: Organic
Accommodation Type: In Our Home, Separate Building
Georgella farm is a small family farm practicing organic principles located close to Coffs Harbour, Sawtell and the Beach. We have 2 children (7 & 9), numerous farm animals, and 2 dogs. Our aim of being self-sufficient is an enjoyable work in progress that we wish to share with like-minded people. We have Indian Runner ducks, chickens, Dexter cows, (sometimes pigs) and beehives, as well as a small market garden & house garden. We also we plant periodical crops for animal feed. Work includes feeding, watering & checking animals, caring for newly hatched chickens & ducklings, collecting eggs, preparing compost, weeding, planting seedlings, pruning, fencing & GFM. Accom for 1 person (or possibly 2) in a small cabin or in our home. Shared meals, mixed diet. No smoking.
Last Active: active 2 months, 2 weeks ago
City/Town: Booral
Farming Methods: Biodynamic
Accommodation Type: In Our Home
We are on 3.5 acres, which doesn't sound like a lot but we are doing plenty on it. We keep chickens and ducks for eggs and meat. I regularly raise chicks and ducklings to keep the supply up, and there is an almost monthly 'dispatching' day. We also keep goats, for milk and cheese (although they are dry at the moment, and due for kids in Feb 2021). They help keep the scrub down as well as being super fun to watch. The vegetable gardens and fruit trees are many and sprawling.  With a variety of organically grown produce to feed my partner and myself.  The aim for our property is to become as self-sufficient as possible, to reduce the amount of waste that comes onto our land, and reduce the amount of money we spend on store bought products. We recycle, reuse just about everything, food scraps go to the animals, and what ever we don't eat gets composted (including bones!). Check out our profile for more info 🙂
Last Active: active 4 months, 1 week ago
City/Town: Witta
Farming Methods: Organic
Accommodation Type: In Our Home
7 acre small holding in the Sunshine Coast hinterland near Maleny. WeWe are working towards having a small dairy goat farm. Currently we have 6 does which we will be breeding from next year and then starting milk production. We also have 2 large areas for growing vegetables that we need help with setting up. We have been on the property for one year and have found it quite a struggle having discovered just how much work is involved getting started. The veggie patches have had a full soil assessment and we will be adding the right minerals and then setting up the beds and planting seedlings. There will be some work to do with the goats too. The goats are so much fun to work with as they are so friendly, having been with us since they were 3 weeks old. We need help with fencing and small building projects for the goats. My son is in charge of this side of things.
Last Active: active 7 months, 3 weeks ago
City/Town: FASSIFERN VALLEY
Farming Methods: Organic
Accommodation Type: Separate Building
We live in the beautiful Fassifern Valley, a picturesque region that is part of the scenic rim, 1 hour & 10 mins from Brisbane & 90 mins from the Gold Coast. We grow vegetables on our Certified Organic farm. As experienced Hosters of overseas students, we enjoy cultural exchange. Close to Moogerah Dam, our family enjoys fishing, camping & the outdoors. There is nothing better than preparing our evening meals using the food that we have grown here and we love sharing our part of the world with visitors. Work includes planting seedlings, chipping weeds, picking & packing vegetables, setting up irrigation, garden maint. Accom for 4 people either in our home, workers cottage or BYO. Children b.a. Meat-based mixed diet, shared with Hosts. NSI. We prefer long stays after an initial visit of 6-10 days.
Last Active: active 9 months, 2 weeks ago
Age: 21-25
Gender: Female
Skills I Want to Learn: Organic Practices, Permaculture/Biodynamics, Gardening, Composting, Soil conservation, Animal Care, Beekeeping, Fencing, Building, Natural building methods, Using and caring for tools, Preserving food, Wild food foraging, Fermenting food, Marketing produce
Along with my general inclination towards sustainable living, I have an interest in soil ecology (i.e. interactions between mycorrhizal fungi <--> microbiome <--> trees) and its applications in sustainable agriculture. I have been considering WWOOFing for some time and I finally got the push I needed amidst recent events relating to the bushfires and COVID-19. I find myself with a lot of free time and I have decided to take the opportunity to pursue my interest in ecology more deeply. I aim to do this by helping out at your biodynamic or permaculture farm and learning as much as I can about the process of caring for and maintaining the health of that micro-ecosystem. I hope this application is not too late to be considered! I would love to stay with a host for at least a couple of weeks, ideally more, sometime between April and August (up until my visa expires). I can help with picking, planting and anything else that might be required. I have 2 years of experience as a farmhand at a berry farm where I worked during the summers in Canada. I picked and packaged blueberries, elderberries and pumpkins as well as assisted in grafting, pruning and weeding. Anything I haven't done, I learn really quickly! Thanks so much for considering me as your WWOOFer!
X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest