Virginia & Stephen Solomon

Host Profile

My Property

Property Name

Solomon family Research

Business Type

Commercial Farm

Farming methods

Organic

Short Property Description

Permaculture garden with vegie gardens, poultry, orchards and lots of flowers. Large, friendly food-focused house.  We love to cook and share ideas with our wwoofers. 25 km from central Melbourne on the Eltham train line.

Full Property Description

Permaculture garden, under one acre, vegie gardens, poultry, orchards and lots of flowers. Large, friendly food-focused house. Work includes propagating, harvesting, preserving, planting, building, mending, weeding, mulching, designing & problem solving. Virginia is a permaculture educator and loves to work in the garden with someone. Spanish & French spoken.
Short stays preferred (2 weeks max.) We are on the train line 45 minutes to central Melbourne. Accom in our home as family. Mixed diet. No smoking.

WWOOF Australia has done a Blog post about us, you can read it on their News Page

Organic/Biological methods we use

We practice permaculture so our methods are all organic and we try to minimise resource use as much as we can. We have chooks, make compost, use grey water, recycled water and tank water. We do, however, have to buy in mulch at times, and we sometimes use non-harmful sprays such as vinegar.

Special Conditions

During the fire season (high summer) we will want our wwoofers to read our fire plan and check safety equipment on arrival. We have never been hit by a bushfire, but in the unlikely event, we want our WWOOFers to be well-informed so that everyone stays safe. We also have a simple snake kit. Venemous snakes are known to live in this area, but only 2 have been sighted in 25 years. Once again, if you are prepared you will be fine. We have a bouncy dog and a (strictly indoor) cat, they are both very friendly and will love you from first sight ?

Skills WWOOFers can learn here

Permaculture design practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Soil conservation, Mulching, Animal care

My Details

The Stay

Can Accommodate

2 WWOOFers

Preferred length of Stay

1-2 weeks

Accommodation

In Our Home

Other options

Non-Smoking, No Children

Meal Procedures

Eat together, Share cooking

Languages spoken

English, French, Spanish

Diets we cater for

All diets catered for

Address

Contact

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest