New Android App now available - iPhone App coming soon. Read More

Geraldine de Burgh-Day

Host Profile

My Property

Property Name

Mingari Lorinna

Business Type

Commercial Farm

Farming methods

Organic

Short Property Description

I have 3 Certified Organic properties in Lorinna. Home is 70 acres (40 cleared) in a beautiful mountain valley, bordering Lake Cethana. Second is 95 acres higher in the valley – magnificent views, cleared & divided into paddocks for grazing cattle & growing hay. I am self-sufficient & produce nearly all I need incl electricity. I have a large veggie garden & orchard & have not shopped in a supermarket for years. I milk our house cows & raise beef cattle using cell grazing. A lawn is grazed by free-range guinea pigs, keep rabbits for love & dinners. I enjoy good food & wine, music, reading & current affairs and live in a large hay bale house. Work incl gardening, fieldwork, haymaking, animal care, firewood collection/stacking etc depending on skills & needs. Recreation: bush walking, swimming, reading & social activities. Accom in WWOOF house across the field from my house, all meals in my house with me. Couples OK. No children. Meals are organic & include meat & dairy. No special diets. Couples welcome. Non-smokers only. Prefer long stays – min stay 1 week. Only genuine WWOOFers, please.

Full Property Description

The properties are located in a very remote picturesque valley in northwest Tasmania with lots of wildlife a large lake and some of the cleanest air in the world.

Organic/Biological methods we use

Fully certified organic for the last 20 years, I am passionate about animal care and handling.

I am totally self-sufficient growing and raising all the food I eat on the property this includes fruit vegetables meat milk cheese etc.

 

Special Conditions

People with carpentry skills or other handy people are very welcome!!!

Skills WWOOFers can learn here

Organic practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Soil conservation, Mulching, Animal care, Dairy, Using & caring for tools, Cheese making, Fermenting foods, Preserving & processing food

My Details

The Stay

Can Accommodate

3 WWOOFers

Preferred length of Stay

2-4 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

Accommodation

Separate Building

Other options

Non-Smoking, No Children

Meal Procedures

Eat together

Languages spoken

english

Diets we cater for

Meat based meals, Gluten free meals

Why I became a WWOOF Host

I have been a WWOOF host for 20 years.  I have a deep concern for the future of our planet, and I believe it is possible to live and eat very well with a much smaller footprint.  I also believe that my generation has had a real ‘party’ on our planet, and  the result will impact hugely on younger people, therefore I have a responsibility to teach that it is possible to live well, and also be gentler on our planet.  Many people these days talk of sustainability, permaculture etc, but I don’t see many people actually practicing these things.  I try to totally live this way, and have not shopped in a supermarket for years.  I produce everything I need, and live within this framework. I love hosting WWOOFers who are wanting to learn how to live in a totally sustainable way, and who give me the opportunity to pass on the things I have learnt in the 20 years I have been working to achieve this way of living.  And, as I am getting older, it is simply wonderful to have help for all that needs to be done for day to day living, and running a farm.

Address

Contact

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -

Pin It on Pinterest