New Android App now available - iPhone App coming soon. Read More

Donny Tilbury

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    I have recently bought a very old miner's cottage on a half acre in a cute rural village in central NSW. The cottage will be creatively renovated and the land turned into organic food gardens. YOU could learn lots about Aussie lifestyle, sustainable living, alternative building AND have a lot of fun if you choose to WWOOFwith Donny.

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Short Property Description

    “Work is love made visible” …Kahlil Gibran

    If you understand the above quotation then you are the wwoofer I want.

    Please, read EVERYTHING below before requesting to join me.

    Full Property Description

    ABOUT DONNY:
    He is a retired
    , alternative builder. He is also an event manager, writer, musician, knowledgeable gardener… and long-time, experienced  WWOOF, host (More than 23 years WWOOF!)

    I currently host wwoofers in the village of Mumbil, about 25km south of Wellington, near Dubbo and Orange in central NSW.
    Have a look at the web site: https://mumbil.nsw.au/
    Go on, do that now and then come back here to read the rest of my profile.

    As well as a comfortable old cottage, I have a great ‘Gypsie Camp’ set up on my block with canvass and caravan. I’m establishing organic veggie gardens, doing land regeneration, setting up for sustainability and renovating a very old and historic cottage.

    I have another Gypsie Camp set up at Billen Cliffs Solar Village, a community in Northern NSW near Nimbin/Lismore/Byron Bay on my son’s property. There might be opportunity to come and WWOOF there too. I road trip my way there often enough. Look at http://www.billencliffs.org.au

    ABOUT THE STAY:

    Your stay must be a minimum of TWO WEEKS, preferably longer. I want time to exchange culture, have long conversations, tell and hear stories, connect …and get some tasks done.

    The help, of open-minded, fun-loving Wwoofers, is always appreciated. I am open to single people or couples who can work with and without supervision.  I am patient with language difficulty and will help your learning.

    It won’t be all work though:

    ABOUT THE FUN:
    These are the sort of things we do when we are NOT working. Visits to National Parks, bush walking, swimming… in waterholes and rivers or the lake, fishing, a day at the markets, visiting interesting sites and places, chilling out or partying with the community, deep and meaningful conversations, music jam sessions, watching wildlife …and then there is the Dubbo:  https://dubbo.com.au and the Warrumbungle region: https://www.visitnsw.com/destinations/country-nsw/warrumbungle-area/activities

    What do YOU like to do, for fun?

    If you can play music, sing, dance or entertain in any way you will be most welcomed. Cultural exchange, cooking, creative arts and healing skills are encouraged. Being open to living the moment, getting by without makeup, engaging in conversation, being interested in your health and nutritional needs, will guarantee you enjoy the experience fully.

    ABOUT THE PHOTOS:

    Have a look inside the gallery

     

     

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    ABOUT THE WORK:
    Work could be in the garden, cutting firewood, building, painting, installing an outside, heated, bathtub, making an earth oven, cleaning the camp …anything really. Basically you will be helping Donny get things done …if you can keep up with him.
    Alternative building methods, using bush timber, creative carpentry: these are just some of the learning possibilities. If you are experienced with carpentry, plumbing, electrical or just working on a building site, you will be especially welcomed.

    Work here is fun, artistic, safe, sustainable, fun, healthy, active, fun, GREEN, and, well, more fun.

    Special Conditions

    REMEMBER:

    Preference is given to those who have messaged or emailed early, describing their talents & aspirations and why you choose to WWOOF here with me.

    Include photos of YOU, your previous WWOOF experiences (if any), your home and family if you like, or even your home town

    THE MORE YOU TELL ABOUT YOURSELF… THE BETTER!

     

    *GENERIC EMAILS SENT TO MULTIPLE HOSTS WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED!*

     

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Biodynamic practices & techniques, Permaculture design practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Soil conservation, Mulching, Wild Food Foraging, Worm farming, Beekeeping, Animal care, Mechanical, Using & caring for tools, Building, Natural Building techniques, Fencing, Handyman, Bread making, Fermenting foods, Preserving & processing food, Marketing produce

    My Details

    Name

    Donny Tilbury

    Gender

    Male

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    3 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    2-4 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home, Separate Building, Caravan, Tent, BYO Accommodation

    Other options

    No Smoking Inside, Children allowed by arrangement

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together, Share most meals, Share cooking

    Languages spoken

    English (I will help you!)

    Diets we cater for

    All diets catered for (mixed meals), Fish based meals, Meat based meals, Vegetarian meals

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    I’ve been a WWOOF Host for more than 23 years. I do it because I like the interaction, the cultural exchange, and the pure joy of sharing my lifestyle, experience, and philosophy. I find that my inspiration rises and I get things done when the workload is shared.

     

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest