Maddy and Harry

Host Profile

    My Property

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Short Property Description

    Our 1.5ha was once part of a dairy farm. Since 2011 we have been transforming this into a sustainable and indigenous property. We have built an orchard and vegie gardens. We have a large hot house for growing vegies in winter and propagating.

    We are gradually revegetating the remainder of the property with mainly local native plants and we have built a large ornamental native garden.

    The remaining land is grazed by an alpaca, goats and sheep, all presided over by our beautiful kelpie dog, Sally.

    Work includes caring for the animals, maintaining and extending garden beds and orchard, landscaping, tree-planting, re-vegetation work, minor construction projects and food processing in season.

    Accommodation for 2 within our home. Shared meals, mixed diet, vegetarians catered for. Children b.a. Smoking outdoors only. Initial stay up to a week then negotiable.

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    We manage several large compost bins and two large worm farms, all of which nourish our plants.  We also import  other animal manures.

    Most of our vegie garden are wicking beds, which minimise watering needs; we are reliant on rainwater tanks, so water conservation is important.

    Mulching is an important regular activity. We are exploring and trialling how to increase the carbon content of our soils, which can increase soil water retention.

    My Details

    Name

    Maddy and Harry

    Partners Name

    Harry Freeman

    Gender

    Couple

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    3-7 days, 1-2 weeks

    Accommodation

    In Our Home

    Other options

    No Smoking Inside, Children allowed by arrangement

    Meal Procedures

    Eat together, Share cooking

    Languages spoken

    English, French

    Diets we cater for

    Mixed meals, some meat, some vegetarian, BYO Special diet foods please

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    We enjoy meeting new people and sharing our culture and learning about other cultures. we have maintained friendships with many of our WWOOFers and have visited some in their home countries.

    Work and Study Remotely here

    Work and Study Remotely here by arrangement

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest