Download the New iPhone WWOOF App now!Read More

Carol Rea-Francis

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    Sanctuary

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Short Property Description

    We are located north of sunny Brisbane in a beautiful native forest. We are regenerating the native bush land with local and interstate Australian native plants, most we propagate from seed, to attract birds and wildlife. We have many beautiful birds visit daily, parrots, cockatoo, kookaburra, lorikeets… and wallabies, koala and possums on occasions.

    We are interested in permaculture landscaping to create an habitat for birds and wildlife and where people can live harmoniously. We are creative people and live sustainably. We have an organic vegetable garden. I have been gardening all my life. I propagate my vegetables and herbs from saved seeds. Richard has a lot of experience in construction and loves designing and building with recycled timber.

    We have a large comfortable home with a swimming pool which is solar heated. You will have a private bedroom and bathroom with a very comfortable bed. Brisbane is in the subtropical region which means we have beautiful sunny weather most days of the year.

    We enjoy going with our volunteers to beaches, walking in the rainforests and hiking to the waterfall to swim. And certain times of the year we love to go whale watching and to visit the sea turtles nesting and hatching. We are both gourmet cooks. We are not chefs but we did own a restaurant a few years ago. We love healthy food and we are mostly vegetarian although we cater to any diet choices.

    We have many interesting and creative projects we need help with outside and occasionally inside. We require people to work 4-6 hours per day with 2 days off per week. We provide breakfast lunch and dinner. We would prefer people to stay at least two weeks and long term is an option. If you like our profile please send us a message.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Organic practices & techniques, Permaculture design practices & techniques, Gardening, Composting, Soil conservation, Propagating, Mulching, Pruning, Worm farming, Using & caring for tools, Fencing, Building, Natural Building techniques, Handyman, Preserving & processing food, Bread making

    My Details

    Name

    Carol Rea-Francis

    Partners Name

    Richard Francis

    Gender

    Male

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    4 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    2-4 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home

    Other options

    Non-Smoking

    Diets we cater for

    All diets catered for (mixed meals)

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    We have enjoyed hosting volunteers for 5 years through other platforms and when we learnt about WWOOF we knew we should have a profile here to connect with like minded people. We have learnt a lot from our volunteers and in turn have taught many of our skills eg, organic vegetable gardening, permaculture, regenerating bush land, construction with timber metal and rock, painting, craftwork.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest