New Android App now available - iPhone App coming soon. Read More

Allan & Jennifer Harris

Host Profile

    My Property

    Property Name

    Glen Alpin Gardens

    Business Type

    Hobby Farm

    Farming methods

    Organic

    Short Property Description

    We will not be taking WWOOFers unfortunately until there is ZERO COVID-19 cases thank you.

    What is it like here at Glen Aplin Gardens:

    A pleasant rural property set into the SE corner of QLD, 3 hours from Brisbane in the Granite Belt near the Severn River. As an eco tourist site, we provide short stay accommodation,  a cafe, with an art craft gallery. It is an undulating property with bushland, and formal rock gardens.

    The work required to be done:

    Work includes landscaping, planting, seedling management, mowing lawns & gardening /weeding. There is accommodation for a single person or a couple within in our home in a self contained flat quite separate from the house to give you privacy.

    We will provide you with food and are happy to share occasional meals where appropriate, but you can  cook in in your own kitchen. No children please. This is a non-smokimg property and non smoking WWOOFers are preferred.  Initial stay 1-4 weeks, then negotiable after that.

    The people required should be:

    Mature and responsible with a sound working ethic. We are very happy to teach processes and techniques of work skills such as gardening required.

    Much of your time will be self managed and unsupervised once you have a clear understanding of your work tasks. We are flexible and would only wish you to work safely and within you abilities. We will be always on the property and work with you to start with until you are comfortable with each task.

    Organic/Biological methods we use

    We recycle all our organic waste material and use water efficiently with solar tehcnology in place.

    Special Conditions

    We would welcome people who do not spend all their time on their mobile phones when at work please.

    Skills WWOOFers can learn here

    Gardening, Composting, Propagating, Pruning, Soil conservation, Mulching, Animal care, Using & caring for tools, Fencing, Handyman, Bread making

    My Details

    The Stay

    Can Accommodate

    2 WWOOFers

    Preferred length of Stay

    1-2 weeks, Longer stays by negotiation

    Accommodation

    In Our Home

    Other options

    Non-Smoking

    Meal Procedures

    Share most meals

    Languages spoken

    English

    Why I became a WWOOF Host

    We like to share our little part of Australia here in Glen Aplin Queensland. We have a small hobby farm with a few Alpacas and Barney our Golden Retriever family pet.

    It is hoped that you will experience a  refreshing and enlivening Australian lifestyle here and enjoy working in the open spaces of the countryside where you can be relaxed and peaceful.

    Address

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest