Kamil Saklaski

Wwoofer Profile

    About Me

    Personal Bio

    Two days after my arrival in Australia I found a job on a cattle station in Western Australia (Kimberley region). Not really knowing at that time what a “station” really means, I jumped into a Greyhound bus in Darwin happy I got a job, was picked up at 3 a.m. next day and started my work 3 hours later. No wasting time on the Outback!

    Even though I was mainly gardening, I was always excited when given the opportunity of helping stations hands in their regular duties. That, however, was more exception than a rule, and I left the station having the feeling, that I could do more. I wanted to be the full member of a crew. I got fascinated with the animal care, cattle processing, the Outback and the station life itself.

    Couple weeks later I got the opportunity to work in a remote roadhouse on the Cape York Peninsula. Parallel to the shop, bar and the motel, the owners were running a horse stud. I enjoyed every second I spent with those amazing animals, feeding and observing them, as well as learning from trainers and on my own, how incredible it is to develop a bond with them.

    My goal is now to learn how to ride a horse, build and maintain a bond with those incredible animals, understand their behaviours and know how to form a solid partnership. While doing so I would also strive for enhancing my manual skills, like basic mechanics, fencing or operating various machines (truck-cranes, bobcats, loaders), which are indispensable part of the Australian Outback, the place I wish to further explore.

    Why I joined WWOOF

    I consider WWOOF as a great opportunity to learn. I was raised and spent most of my adult time in the city, while exploring and understanding the interior of Australia requires vast array of skills I did not have chance to learn so far. This is why I am happy to exchange my time and yes-attitude for acquiring new skills and knowledge, especially in the area of animal husbandry and horsemanship.

    Volunteering gives also flexibility that allows for visiting more places in time-limited environment determined by the Work and Holiday visa as compared to paid-job, which is often season-constrained. That adds to the diversity and multiply the amount of challenges one has to encounter, giving the possibility of gaining more experience in a comparatively shorter period of time.

    My Details

    Name

    Kamil Saklaski

    Visa Type/Citizenship

    Working Holiday Visa

    Gender

    Male

    Country of Origin

    Poland

    Attributes

    Languages I speak

    Polish, English

    My Skills

    gardening (mowing/whipper snipping, watering including pump and sprinkles maintenance, pulling out weeds, pruning/trimming and the maintenance of tools), hospitality (bartending, coffee-making, cleaning, making rooms for customers), painting/renovating, 4WD/motorcycle/tractor/forklift driving

    Skills I would like to learn

    Animal Care, Mustering, Fencing, Building, Handyman, Mechanical, Wine making

    Diet

    All food

    Contact

    X
    - Enter Your Location -
    - or -

    Pin It on Pinterest