Seeking host farm for kiwi couple

Home Forums Host Farm Wanted Seeking host farm for kiwi couple

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Carmel and Reiner Schmidt 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

Sophie Jackson
    Participant

Hi there,
    My name is Sophie and I’m a food scientist from NZ. My partner is Steve, and we currently live in Rochester VIC. I was a dairy farm auditor and have background in meat and dairy processing. We are looking for a host farm to work on (long term) and maybe pass on some of our skills and knowledge. We would love to help out in all jobs. I grew up on a sheep and beef farm so can do most jobs under the sun, I love gardening and horticultural work, working animals and Steve my partner is a qualified pig and beef boner. We would like to start a Boer goat breeding and multispecies cheese making operation but are struggling to find rentals which allow goats and dogs and we cannot buy land just yet as we are unsure where will suit- we were living on King island until end Aug 2017 and NZ before that. We have a lovely maremma paired to our herd of 6.5 goats. I say 6.5 as ones only 4 weeks old! We have a love for all things food, charcuterie, cheese, bread, smoking fish and salami, to name a few. We are also not aftaid to work hard for you so we can have a new start in our Australian life

Bradley Foxlewin
    Participant

Hi Sophie and Steve,
    How urgently are you looking for a place to start your venture? I have a small house on my property which I am working on making suitable for full-time living, but which would not be ready for a few months. If you would be interested in helping with this process beforehand, this time could be reduced! I do have horses on my property, so it would be important for your dog to be ok with this. If you are interested, email me on foxlewin@aapt.net.au
    Bradley

Judy Barnet
    Participant